Schering Stiftung

Project 

Illustration by Tobias Gutman

Illustration by Tobias Gutman
Photo: Tobias Gutmann für Institut Kunst HGK FHNW.

The Next Society

Institut Kunst Basel launches new program with a seminar by Kristina Bach

Illustration by Tobias Gutman
Photo: Tobias Gutmann für Institut Kunst HGK FHNW.

The Next Society

Institut Kunst Basel launches new program with a seminar by Kristina Bach

Date:

April 09 – June 12, 2015

Venue:

Institut Kunst Basel
Freilager-Platz 1
4023 Basel

More information is available here.


What our lives and our society will look like in the future is a question that preoccupies both science and art. “The Next Society” is therefore the title of a professorship dedicated to the sciences in the context of an art academy, which was established during the 2015 summer term at the Institut Kunst (Institute of Art) at the Academy of Art and Design in Basel. Appointees will be visiting scholars from a variety of disciplines who will present their work and research and collaborate with the art students on selected topics. The first holder of the professorship is Kristina Buch, a biologist and artist from Düsseldorf. In her seminar, which takes place on two days each in April and June 2015, she will explore the topic of “uniqueness.”

The new professorship aims to link the different ideas about research and different understandings of form, development and cause in science and art and to break down the functional separation of the disciplines. The program strives to bring art closer to scientific topics and ideas and wants to build an ongoing relationship between the arts and the sciences. After all, the scientific debates on emotions and the brain, the role of genetics in human memory, the origins of the cosmos do not just concern scientists, but also artists. To achieve the program objectives and to intensify the dialogue between science and art, the professorship will be accompanied by seminars, days-with-a-scientist, days of science, and a public lecture series.

“The collaboration between artists, engineers, and scientists has a long tradition; and at the Institut Kunst in Basel – here and now – we want to revive this history. We want to engage with and explore issues such as time, matter, life, information, position, exhibition and (re)presentation, structure, reality, experience, pleasure, consciousness, intelligence, sensuality and many others. We want to prepare the ground on which the two communities – of artists and scientists – develop topics and work on issues that are important for the future of knowledge. It is about creating an environment that facilitates experimentation with speculation,” says Chus Martinez, director of the Institut Kunst to explain the background of the new professorship.

The Schering Stiftung makes possible the establishment of “The Next Society” professorship, since it is convinced that the boundaries and barriers between the disciplines hamper both artistic and scientific research. It is only through curiosity and an openness beyond one’s own discipline that something new can emerge. “The Next Society” helps create new forms of communication and teaching that have the potential of serving as a model for other art academies.

Illustration: Tobias Gutmann on behalf of Institut Kunst HGK FHNW.

 

Read more

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

Seminar — May 09 – May 11, 2017

From the Trump election to the new interest on activism and nature, the symposium will offer critical perspectives on the current political, economical and scientific debates in the arts and their relation with science.

Learn more

The Next Society – Seminar Art & Science

Seminar — March 22 – April 28, 2017

The two-part seminar examines what art and science share. Both art and science explore, in depth and often in amazed wonder, the questions “What is true? Why does it matter? How can we move society forward?”

Learn more

Seminar Art & Science

Event — April 07 – June 10, 2016

Julieta Aranda, Alexander Tarakhowski and Hans-Jörg Rheinberger investigate the relations between art and science, their affinity to new forms of intelligence and their different modes of attention.

Learn more

Symposium: On Intelligence

Symposium — March 21 – March 23, 2016

What kind of intelligence speaks through the means of artistic practices if these are no longer understood as only the production of objects and performances but as research in its own right?

Learn more

Seminar: New Forms of Understanding Theory

Seminar — December 10 – December 11, 2015

The two-day seminar is meant as an introduction to a debate on nature, on artistic practice, on gender that affects traditional ways of understanding the relationship between art and political and social theory.

Learn more

The Next Society

Seminar — October 15 – October 29, 2015

What the future of society will look like is a question that preoccupies both science and art. “The Next Society” is therefore the title of a professorship dedicated to the sciences at the Institut Kunst in Basel.

Learn more

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Illustration von Tobias Gutmann

Illustration von Tobias Gutmann
Foto: Tobias Gutmann für Institut Kunst HGK FHNW.

The Next Society

Kristina Buch als erster Gast am neuen Lehrstuhl des Instituts Kunst in Basel

Illustration von Tobias Gutmann
Foto: Tobias Gutmann für Institut Kunst HGK FHNW.

The Next Society

Kristina Buch als erster Gast am neuen Lehrstuhl des Instituts Kunst in Basel

Termin:

09.04. – 12.06.2015

Veranstaltungsort:

Institut Kunst Basel
Freilager-Platz 1
4023 Basel

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie hier.


Mit der Gestalt, die die Zukunft und unsere Gesellschaft einmal annehmen werden, beschäftigt sich sowohl die Wissenschaft als auch die Kunst. „The Next Society“ ist daher der Name eines Lehrstuhls, der den Wissenschaften im Kontext einer Kunsthochschule gewidmet ist. Der Lehrstuhl wurde im Sommersemester 2015 am Institut Kunst der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Basel eingerichtet. Er wird mit Gastwissenschaftlern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen besetzt, die sich und ihre Forschung vorstellen und gemeinsam mit den Kunststudierenden zu den jeweiligen Themenkomplexen arbeiten. Als erster Gast konnte Kristina Buch, Biologin und Künstlerin aus Düsseldorf, gewonnen werden. In ihrem Seminar, welches an jeweils zwei Tagen im April und im Juni 2015 stattfindet, geht sie Fragen zum Thema „Einzigartigkeit“ nach.

Ziel des neuen Lehrstuhls ist es, unterschiedliche Vorstellungen von Forschung, das unterschiedliche Verständnis von Form, Entwicklung und Ursache in den Wissenschaften und den Künsten zueinander in Beziehung zu setzen und die funktionale Trennung der Disziplinen aufzuheben. Das Programm strebt eine Annäherung an wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Ideen innerhalb des Bereichs der Künste an und möchte eine kontinuierliche Beziehung zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften aufbauen. Denn die Forschungsdiskussionen über Emotionen und das Gehirn, über die Bedeutung der Genetik für die Erinnerung, über die Ursprünge des Kosmos – sie alle betreffen nicht nur Wissenschaftler sondern auch Künstler. Um die Ziele des Programms zu erreichen und den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Kunst zu intensivieren, werden im Rahmen des Lehrstuhls Seminare, Days-with-a-Scientist, Tage der Wissenschaft und eine öffentliche Vortragsreihe angeboten.

„Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Künstlern, Ingenieuren und Wissenschaftlern hat eine lange Tradition; und am Institut Kunst in Basel – hier und heute – wollen wir diese Geschichte wieder aufleben lassen. Wir wollen uns mit Zeit, Materie, Leben, Information, Position, Ausstellung und Darstellung, Struktur, Wirklichkeit, Erfahrung, Lust, Bewusstsein, Intelligenz, Sinnlichkeit und vielem anderen mehr auseinandersetzen und uns diesen Fragen stellen. Wir wollen einen Boden bereiten, von dem aus zwei Gemeinschaften – die der KünstlerInnen und die der WissenschaftlerInnnen – Fragen entwickeln und Fragestellungen ausarbeiten können, die für die Zukunft des Wissens von Bedeutung sind. Es geht um die Schaffung eines Umfelds, welches das Experiment mit der Spekulation ermöglicht“, erläutert Chus Martinez, Leiterin des Kunstinstituts Basel, die Hintergründe für die Etablierung des neuen Lehrstuhls.

Die Schering Stiftung ermöglicht die Einrichtung der Professur „The Next Society“ in der Überzeugung, dass Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen sowohl künstlerische als auch wissenschaftliche Forschung behindern. In der Neugierde auf das Andere, mit offenem Blick über die eigene Disziplin hinaus, kann etwas Neues entstehen. Mit „The Next Society“ entstehen neue Kommunikations- und Lehrformen, die das Potenzial haben, als Vorbild für andere Kunsthochschulen zu dienen.

Weiterlesen

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

Seminar — 09.05. – 11.05.2017

Ausgehend von der Wahl Trumps und dem neu erwachten Interesse am Aktivismus sowie an der Natur, werden in diesem Seminar aktuelle künstlerische Fragestellungen erarbeitet und mit den Wissenschaften in Beziehung gesetzt.

Mehr erfahren

The Next Society – Seminar Kunst & Wissenschaft

Seminar — 22.03. – 28.04.2017

Das Seminar widmet sich der Untersuchung dessen, was Kunst und Wissenschaft teilen, wenn sie beispielsweise den Fragen „Was ist wahr? Warum ist das wichtig? Wie bringt man eine Gesellschaft weiter" nachgehen.

Mehr erfahren

The Next Society – Seminar Kunst & Wissenschaft

Veranstaltung — 07.04. – 10.06.2016

Julieta Aranda, Alexander Tarakhowski und Hans-Jörg Rheinberger fragen nach dem Verhältnis von Kunst und Wissenschaft, ihrem Bezug zu verschiedenen Formen der Erkenntnis und Modi der Aufmerksamkeit.

Mehr erfahren

Symposium: On Intelligence

Symposium — 21.03. – 23.03.2016

Welche Form von Intelligenz äußert sich in künstlerischer Arbeit, wenn diese nicht nur als das Herstellen von Objekten oder Performances, sondern auch als Forschung betrachtet wird?

Mehr erfahren

Seminar: Neue Formen Theorie zu verstehen

Seminar — 10.12. – 11.12.2015

Das Seminar versteht sich als Einführung in die gegenwärtigen Debatten über Natur, künstlerische Praxis und Gender, die derzeit unser Verständnis des Verhältnisses von Kunst, Theorie und Politik beeinflussen.

Mehr erfahren

The Next Society

Seminar — 15.10. – 29.10.2015

Mit der Gestalt, die die Zukunft der Gesellschaft annehmen wird, beschäftigt sich sowohl die Wissenschaft als auch die Kunst. Das Institut Kunst in Basel widmet dem Fragen nach dieser den Lehrstuhl "The Next Society".

Mehr erfahren

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram