Schering Stiftung

Conference 

Photo: (c) Diego Serra & Regine Hengge

The BacNet13 Conference

Photo: (c) Diego Serra & Regine Hengge

The BacNet13 Conference

Date:

March 16 – March 21, 2013

Venue:

Schloss in Pultusk
Szkolna 11
06-100 Pułtusk
Polen

Unfortunately, registration for the conference is now closed.


The Bacterial Networks conference (short: “BacNet”) has evolved into one of the most important European science conferences, which every two years brings together leading representatives in the fields of molecular microbiology, systems biology, and synthetic biology from Europe and overseas. For the first time, the conference will feature a Science & Society Session, chaired by Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge, professor of microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin, and funded by the Schering Stiftung. The session will be entitled “Creative Experiments at the Interface of Science and the Arts.”

The Science & Society Session
The Science & Society Session, featuring speakers that deal with the sciences from a sociological, philosophical or artistic perspective, is a new addition to BacNet. This is due to the fact that the modern sciences increasingly influence our lives and receive public attention, which makes it necessary for scientists to deal more extensively with the social impact as well as public representation of their work. The session sees itself as an experiment that seeks to inspire an entirely new debate, provide scientists with a fresh perspective on their work and its impact, and initiate novel interdisciplinary collaborations.

The focus of this year’s Science & Society Session is on “Science and the Arts.” The theme picks up on the recently observed trend of science and art moving towards each other in a variety of ways. While artists, both in their own contexts and increasingly also in cooperation with scientists, are engaging in research themselves (“artistic research”), scientists are paying more and more attention to the intuitive, creative, and aesthetic facets of their work. Three presentations will highlight the varied aspects of this trend:

Art Historian Horst Bredekamp
The past few years have seen a dramatic rise of a visual culture in the modern sciences. In addition to traditional quantitative measurements, raw data are increasingly complex image;, complex models and hypotheses can be communicated only visually; and artistically designed images serve to popularize science. In his lecture “Into the Depth: The Microscope’s Principle of Disjunction,” art historian Horst Bredekamp (Humboldt University of Berlin) will examine those visual aspects of science.

Artist Ursula Damm
Especially synthetic biology with its possibilities for design and construction is an attractive field for artists who create new models of living organisms, who cooperate with labs in order to work directly with cells or tissue or who shape the public “presence” of synthetic biology. These issues will be addressed by artist Ursula Damm (Bauhaus University of Weimar) in her talk on “Engineering the Future.”

“Electrophoresis Artist” Paul Vanouse
Many artists reflect on the growing influence of the sciences on our modern world and its possible social and ethical consequences. They experiment with materials and techniques derived from the natural sciences. This perspective is represented by the “electrophoresis artist” Paul Vanouse (University of Buffalo, NY) who will give a talk about “DNA as Material and Medium.”

Chair: Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge, Freie Universität Berlin
Deputy Chair: Prof. Dr. Victor Sourjik, University of Heidelberg

Read more

You might also be interested in

December 11, 2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: How to Organize an Art-Science Collaboration

Workshop at the 12th Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

March 21, 2020

CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

On Smell

Symposium at the Intersection of Art and Science

January 08, 2020

LITTLE JOE – Happiness is Business

Series of discussions with X Verleih

November 07, 2020

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Hybrid Encounters

Art meets Science

October 01, 2018

With All Our Senses

How We Interact With One Another

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Konferenz 

Foto: (c) Diego Serra & Regine Hengge

Die BacNet13 Konferenz

Foto: (c) Diego Serra & Regine Hengge

Die BacNet13 Konferenz

Termin:

16.03. – 21.03.2013

Veranstaltungsort:

Schloss in Pultusk
Szkolna 11
06-100 Pułtusk
Polen

Eine Anmeldung zur Konferenz ist leider nicht mehr möglich.


Die Bacterial-Networks-Konferenz (kurz „BacNet“) hat sich zu einer der wichtigsten europäischen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen entwickelt, die alle zwei Jahre die führenden Vertreter der Molekularen Mikrobiologie, Systembiologie und Synthetischen Biologie aus Europa und Übersee zusammenbringt. Erstmalig wird es auch eine Science & Society Session geben, welche von der Berliner Biologin Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge von der Freien Universität geleitet und von der Schering Stiftung finanziert wird. Thema der Session: „Creative Experiments at the Interface of Science and the Arts“.

Die Science & Society Session
Die Science & Society Session mit Sprechern, die sich aus soziologischer, philosophischer oder künstlerischer Perspektive mit den Naturwissenschaften befassen, ist eine Neuerung in der BacNet. Dies ist der Entwicklung geschuldet, dass die modernen Naturwissenschaften einen immer größeren Einfluss auf das Leben aller in unserer Gesellschaft haben und auch in der Öffentlichkeit immer stärker wahrgenommen werden. Das verlangt von den Wissenschaftlern, sich mit den sozialen Konsequenzen ihrer Arbeit und deren Repräsentation in der Öffentlichkeit verstärkt zu befassen. Die Session versteht sich selbst als Experiment, das ganz neue Diskussionen anregen soll, den Naturwissenschaftlern neue Blickwinkel auf ihre Arbeit und deren Außenwirkung eröffnen wird und zu neuartigen interdisziplinären Kooperationen führen kann.
Der Schwerpunkt der diesjährigen Science & Society Session liegt auf dem Thema „Wissenschaft und Kunst“. Dies folgt der in den letzten Jahren deutlich zu beobachtenden Tendenz, dass sich die Naturwissenschaften und die Künste auf vielfache Weise einander anzunähern beginnen. Es zeigt sich, dass Künstler in ihren Kontexten und zunehmend auch in Kooperationen mit Wissenschaftlern ebenfalls forschend tätig sind („artistic research“), während andererseits intuitiv-kreative und ästhetische Gesichtspunkte in der Tätigkeit von Wissenschaftlern mehr Beachtung finden. Die vielfältigen Aspekte dieses Trends werden schlaglichtartig in drei Vorträgen eingefangen:

Kunsthistoriker Horst Bredekamp
Seit einigen Jahren erleben wir einen dramatischen Aufstieg des Visuellen in den modernen Naturwissenschaften. Primärdaten sind zunehmend wieder komplexe Bilder (neben den traditionellen quantitativen Messungen), komplexe Modelle und Hypothesen sind nur bildlich zu vermitteln, und künstlerisch gestaltete Bilder dienen der Popularisierung von Wissenschaft. Der Kunsthistoriker Horst Bredekamp (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) wird eben jene bildhaften Aspekte der Naturwissenschaften in seinem Vortrag „Into the Depth. The Microscope’s Principle of Disjunction“ behandeln.

Künstlerin Ursula Damm
Gerade die Synthetische Biologie und das ihr inhärente Gestaltungs- und Design-Potenzial ziehen zunehmend Künstler an, die neue Modelle für die Lebewesen der Zukunft schaffen, in Kooperationen im Labor sogar direkt mit Zellen oder Gewebe arbeiten oder auch den öffentlichen „Auftritt“ der Synthetischen Biologie gestalten. Mit diesen Aspekten setzt sich die Künstlerin Ursula Damm (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar) in ihrem Vortrag „Engineering the Future“ auseinander.

„Elektrophorese-Künstler“ Paul Vanouse
Viele Künstler reflektieren in ihren Werken den wachsenden Einfluss der Naturwissenschaften auf unsere moderne Welt und dessen mögliche soziale und ethische Folgen. Sie experimentieren mit aus den Naturwissenschaften entlehnten Materialien und Techniken. Hierfür steht im Programm der „Elektrophorese-Künstler“ Paul Vanouse (University of Buffalo, USA) mit seinem Vortrag „DNA as Material and Medium“.

Vorsitz: Prof. Dr. Regine Hengge, Freie Universität Berlin
Stellv. Vorsitz: Prof. Dr. Victor Sourjik, Universität Heidelberg

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Hybrid Encounters

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

01.10.2018

Mit allen Sinnen

Wie wir zusammen leben

11.12.2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: So organisiere ich eine Kunst-Wissenschafts-Kollaboration

Workshop auf dem 12. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

21.03.2020

BIS AUF WEITERES ABGESAGT

Über Geruch

Symposium an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft

08.01.2020

LITTLE JOE – Glück ist ein Geschäft

Diskussionsreihe mit X-Verleih

07.11.2020

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram