Schering Stiftung

Project 

Photo: LEBAO, MHH

Stem Cells as an Opportunity – Reality and Perspectives

Science and Society Sessions 2014

Photo: LEBAO, MHH

Stem Cells as an Opportunity – Reality and Perspectives

Science and Society Sessions 2014

Cancer and neurodegenerative diseases such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s are on the rise worldwide. Stem cell research raises high hopes among patients, but where does it stand today? When treating leukemias, blood stem cell transplantations are part of a successful range of therapy options. For other diseases, stem cells serve as models for research or are said to be crucial for how the disease develops, e.g. with certain kinds of cancer. At the 2nd International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) in Heidelberg, three stem cell researchers will present and discuss their research with the audience as part of a public panel discussion on November 5, 2014.

“Stem Cells as an Opportunity – Reality and Perspectives”
Science & Society Session on Current Lab and Clinical Research

Wednesday, November 5, 2014
6:30–8:00 p.m., doors open at 6:00 p.m.

A Patient’s Story
Mrs. A. had lymph node cancer. The doctors told the young woman and mother that she had only a few weeks to live – when a stem cell donor was found. Eight years later, she talks about the life-saving intervention.

Discussion with three pioneers of stem cell research:
• Prof. Dr. Anthony D. Ho, medical director of the Medical Clinic V at the Heidelberg University Hospital, treats patients suffering from leukaemia with blood stem cells by bone-marrow transplantations. He talks about his research area and the clinical implementation of therapies.

• Prof. Dr. Andreas Trumpp, president of the German Stem Cell Network (GSCN), head of the Stem Cells and Cancer department at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), and managing director of the Heidelberg Institute for Stem Cell Technology and Experimental Medicine (HI-STEM), studies cancer stem cells to better understand the causes and course of cancers.

• Prof. Dr. Magdalena Götz, director of the Institute of Stem Cell Research at the Helmholtz Center in Munich and head of the Physiological Genomics department at the University of Munich, explains how she wants to reprogram cells into neurons in the diseased brain.

The Schering Stiftung supports the event, since it presents and discusses current research with an interested public and enhances the understanding of scientific research. The dialogue with the public is also of particular concern to the German Stem Cell Network. “We reach out to the wider public, since we want to inform about both the current state and the diversity of stem cell research. Our research areas relate to many widespread diseases, and we are driven by the idea that our findings will make it possible to develop successful therapies in the future,” says Daniel Besser, managing director of the GSCN.

The discussion is the concluding event of the three-day International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network. On November 3–5, 2014, more than 400 stem cell researchers will meet in Heidelberg to share and present their latest findings. The annual conference brings together the large community of stem cell researchers in Germany.

Further Information

Stefanie Mahler, Coordinator Communication at the GSCN:
stefanie.mahler@mdc-berlin.de

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ)

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Foto: LEBAO, MHH

Stammzellen als Chance – Realität und Perspektiven

Science und Society Sessions 2014

Foto: LEBAO, MHH

Stammzellen als Chance – Realität und Perspektiven

Science und Society Sessions 2014

Krebs- und neurodegenerative Erkrankungen wie Parkinson und Alzheimer nehmen weltweit zu. Die Stammzellforschung weckt große Hoffnung bei Patienten: Doch wo steht sie wirklich? Bei der Therapie von Leukämien gehört die Blutstammzellen-Transplantation zum erfolgreichen Behandlungsrepertoire. Für andere Erkrankungen dienen Stammzellen als Modell in der Forschung oder werden als bedeutend für den Krankheitsverlauf, z.B. bei bestimmten Krebsarten, gehandelt. Anlässlich der 2. Internationalen Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) in Heidelberg werden am 5. November 2014 drei Stammzellforscher in einer öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussion ihre Forschung vorstellen und mit dem Publikum diskutieren.

„Stammzellen als Chance – Realität und Perspektiven“
Science & Society Session zur aktuellen Forschung in Labor und Klinik

Mittwoch, 5. November 2014
18:30 bis 20 Uhr, Einlass um 18 Uhr

Patientenbericht
Frau A. hatte Lymphdrüsenkrebs. Als junge Frau und Mutter gaben ihr die Ärzte nur noch wenige Wochen zu leben – da fand sich ein Stammzellspender. Acht Jahre später erzählt sie von dem lebensrettenden Eingriff.

Diskussion mit drei Pionieren der Stammzellforschung:
• Prof. Dr. Anthony D. Ho, Ärztlicher Direktor der Medizinischen Klinik V am Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, behandelt Leukämie-Patienten mit Blutstammzellen in Form von Knochenmarkstransplantationen. Er berichtet von seinem Forschungsfeld und der klinischen Umsetzung der Therapien.

• Prof. Dr. Andreas Trumpp, Präsident des German Stem Cell Network (GSCN), Leiter der Abteilung Stammzellen und Krebs im Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) und Geschäftsführer des Heidelberger Instituts für Stammzelltechnologie und Experimentelle Medizin (HI-STEM gGmbH), untersucht Krebsstammzellen, um die Ursachen und den Verlauf von Krebserkrankungen immer genauer zu verstehen.

• Prof. Dr. Magdalena Götz, Direktorin des Instituts für Stammzellforschung am Helmholtz Zentrum München und Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Physiologische Genomik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, erläutert, wie sie im erkrankten Gehirn gezielt Zellen zu Neuronen umbilden möchte.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Veranstaltung, da neue Forschungsansätze an die interessierte Öffentlichkeit getragen und diskutiert werden. Das Verständnis für wissenschaftliche Forschung wird gestärkt. Auch für das German Stem Cell Network ist der Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit besonders wichtig. „Wir suchen den Kontakt zur Bevölkerung, da wir sowohl über den Stand und die Vielfalt der Stammzellforschung aufklären wollen. Unsere Forschungsfelder betreffen viele weitverbreitete Krankheiten und wir werden von dem Ziel angetrieben, dass unsere Forschungsergebnisse in der Zukunft Therapien ermöglichen können“, sagt Daniel Besser, Geschäftsführer des GSCN.

Mit der Veranstaltung endet die dreitägige Internationale Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network. In Heidelberg kommen vom 3. bis zu 5. November 2014 über 400 Wissenschaftler aus der Stammzellforschung zusammen, um sich auszutauschen und neueste Ergebnisse zu präsentieren. Die Jahreskonferenz bringt das weite Feld der Stammzellwissenschaftler in Deutschland zusammen.

Weitere Informationen

Stefanie Mahler, Referentin Kommunikation beim GSCN
stefanie.mahler@mdc-berlin.de

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ)

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram