Schering Stiftung

Project 

Lecture by Luis Serrano in May 2017 at the IRI Life Sciences as part of the IRI-Schering-Colloquium “Life in Numbers”

Lecture by Luis Serrano in May 2017 at the IRI Life Sciences as part of the IRI-Schering-Colloquium “Life in Numbers”
Photo: IRI Life Sciences

IRI-Schering Colloquium “Life in Numbers”

Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences

IRI-Schering Colloquium “Life in Numbers”

Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences

During the 2017 summer term, the Integrative Research Institute of Life Sciences (IRI) at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, with support from the Ernst Schering Foundation, hosts the colloquium “Life in Numbers.” The colloquium features lectures by outstanding international scientists who present their current research in the field of quantitative biology.

The understanding of the biological complexity of ecosystems, whole organisms through the level of single cells requires quantitative thinking along with empirical testing and predictive theory. Common mathematical themes of e.g. spatial and temporal scales or stochastic and dynamic processes play a role in many if not all biological questions. The central goal of Quantitative Biology is the deduction of fundamental principles of living systems and diseases. To make biology quantitative and predictive, it draws upon math-based reasoning and advanced instrumentation from physical science and engineering.

The IRI Colloquium is an event series focusing on a different topic each semester. Internationally renowned scientists are invited to provide insight into their current research. In addition to being able to participate in the discussions that are part of the lectures, young scientists are also given the opportunity for individual conversations to talk about and receive inspiration for their own research. The Ernst Schering Foundation supports the “Life in Numbers” colloquium during the 2017 summer term, since it addresses important aspects of basic research in the life sciences and encourages the cross-disciplinary networking of Berlin-based scientists.

The IRI Colloquium is aimed at students, doctoral candidates, researchers as well as the interested public.

Read more

IRI-Schering Colloquium "Cell Communication" 

Seminar — Series

The IRI Colloquium during the 2017/18 winter term will focus on “Cell Communication”.

Learn more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Vortrag von Luis Serrano im Mai 2017 am IRI Lebenswissenschaften im Rahmen des IRI-Schering-Kolloquiums “Life in Numbers”

Vortrag von Luis Serrano im Mai 2017 am IRI Lebenswissenschaften im Rahmen des IRI-Schering-Kolloquiums “Life in Numbers”
Foto: IRI Life Sciences

IRI-Schering Kolloquium "Life in Numbers"

Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften

IRI-Schering Kolloquium "Life in Numbers"

Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften

Im Sommersemester 2017 lädt das Integrative Forschungsinstitut für Lebenswissenschaften (IRI) der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin mit Unterstützung der Schering Stiftung zu dem Kolloquium „Life in Numbers“ ein. Angeboten werden Vorträge hochkarätiger internationaler Wissenschaftler, die ihre aktuellen Forschungsarbeiten aus dem Bereich der Quantitativen Biologie vorstellen.

Das Verstehen der biologischen Komplexität von ganzen Ökosystem, Organismen bis hin zur einzelnen Zelle erfordert empirische Tests und prädiktive Theorie. Dabei unterliegen biologische Phänomene wie u.a. räumliche und zeitliche Skalen als auch stochastische und dynamische Prozesse mathematischen Modellen, die bei vielen, wenn nicht sogar allen biologischen Fragestellungen eine Rolle spielen. Das zentrale Ziel der Quantitativen Biologie ist die Ableitung von organisatorischen Grundprinzipien lebender Systeme und Krankheiten. Um die Biologie quantitativ und prädiktiv zu machen, vereint sie eine auf Mathematik-basierte Argumentation und die fortgeschrittene Instrumentierung aus Physik und Technik.

Das Kolloquium am IRI ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die sich in jedem Semester einem anderen Themenschwerpunkt widmet. International renommierte Wissenschaftler werden eingeladen, Einblicke in ihre hochaktuellen Forschungsarbeiten zu geben. Zusätzlich zu den Diskussionen im Rahmen des Vortrags erhalten Nachwuchswissenschaftler die Möglichkeit in Einzelgesprächen über ihre eigenen Forschungsarbeiten zu sprechen und sich Anregungen zu holen. Die Schering Stiftung fördert das Kolloquium „Life in Numbers“ im Sommersemester 2017, da es wichtige Aspekte der lebenswissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung aufgreift und zur disziplinenübergreifenden Vernetzung Berliner Wissenschaftler anregt.

Das IRI-Kolloquium richtet sich an Studierende, Promovierende und Forscher. Auch die interessierte Öffentlichkeit ist herzlich eingeladen.

Weiterlesen

IRI-Schering Kolloquium "Cell Communication" 

Seminar — Reihe

Das Kolloquium am IRI widmet sich im Wintersemester 2017/18 dem Thema "Cell Communication".

Mehr erfahren

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram