Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009
Photo: Courtsey the artist

Filmstill, From the Eldfell Footage
Center for Short Lived Phenomena (1973/2003)

Filmstill, From the Eldfell Footage Center for Short Lived Phenomena (1973/2003)
Photo: Courtesy of the Global Volcanism Program, Smithsonian Institution

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009
Photo: Courtesy the artist

Ilana Halperin

HAND HELD LAVA

Ilana Halperin

HAND HELD LAVA

Duration:

February 03 – May 05, 2011

Exhibition opening:

Wednesday, 02. February 2011, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Monday through Saturday: 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Funded by the Schering Stiftung the Berlin Museum of Medical History of the Charité simultaneously shows the exhibition:
Ilana Halperin. Steine
Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum der Charité
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin
Kindly supported by Creative Scotland, British Council, and Blue Lagoon, Iceland.
Opening: January 26, 2012, 7 – 9 pm
Exhibition Duration: 27.01. – 15.07.2012

A publication featuring Halperin’s work and both exhibitions will be published in the spring. In English and German, it will include essays by Gillian Beer, Cambridge, Hugh Tuffen, Lancaster, and Thomas Schnalke, Berlin.


Volcanic activity is never far from our minds or the world news. With her new solo exhibition Hand Held Lava the Glasgow-based artist llana Halperin (b.1973, New York) looks deep into volcanic phenomena and the interplay of life cycles between humans and volcanoes.

Hand Held Lava will focus upon the artist’s long-standing engagement with volcanoes, their generation and life stories. Drawing on personal experience, Ilana Halperin makes biographical connections to volcanic phenomena and examines parallels between geological and human life cycles. The ejection of stony material, the generation of new landmass, the contrast of slow time and fast time: Halperin employs geology as a language to conceive our understanding of time and our relationship to a constantly evolving environment. The exhibition juxtaposes new artworks in poetic relation with historical and geological artefacts.

An early 19th century lava medallion with its accompanying handwritten note (gifted to Alexander von Humboldt, a loan from the Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin) and a series of newly commissioned works – drawings created with lava stamps able to withstand temperatures of liquid magma at 1200 degrees – reflect upon the artist’s volcanic sojourns and tell of the changeable nature of landmass, historical events and their interconnection to human experience.

Halperin’s art practice combines fieldwork in diverse locations: Hawaii, Iceland, France, China, in museums, archives and laboratories and develops in collaboration with geological specialists such as The Global Volcanism Program, British Geological Survey and Earthwatch Institute. Her work has featured in many significant exhibitions, and she has been the recipient of numerous awards. She has recently been appointed the first Artist Fellow at the National Museum of Scotland, and as the Artist-Curator of the geology collection of The Music Hall (the new Shrewsbury Museum) in the town of Charles Darwin’s birth.

Running parallel to the artist’s exhibition at the Schering Stiftung, a striking new solo exhibition investigates the intersection between body stones and geology—new landmass formed inside and outside the body. Steine (Stones) by Ilana Halperin at the Berlin Museum of Medical History of the Charité draws inspiration from the connections between the body’s physical geology and that of the Earth we inhabit. Inspired by the collection of body stones at the Museum, Halperin has made a series of new works formed in the Blue Lagoon, Iceland. These will be shown together with sculptures created in the petrifying springs of Fontaines Pétrifiantes de Saint-Nectaire in France, and loans from Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin. Funded by the Schering Stiftung, the exhibition will provide fascinating new insights into body stones as artefacts and as geological phenomena.

Curators:
Sara Barnes (Independent Curator, Berlin)
Andrew Patrizio (Professor of Scottish Visual Culture, University of Edinburgh)

The exhibition “Hand Held Lava” is kindly supported by Creative Scotland.

Read more

Side events 

A conversation between Ilana Halperin and Prof. Achim Brauer, Head of the Section “Climate Dynamics and Landscape Evolution” at the GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences in Potsdam.

February 07, 2012, 7–9 p.m.
Moderated by curator Sara Barnes

Ilana Halperin. New Landmass, Neue Landmasse

Event — April 23, 2012

Halperin’s artistic work and her intellectual passions form the gravitational center which the essays examine from the perspectives of aesthetics, the history of science, and cultural philosophy.

Learn more

Hand Held Lava

Lecture — March 12, 2012

By exploring the links between geology, archaeology, history and the visual arts, Halperin, Holmberg and Patrizio will attempt to make sense of our ongoing desire to make contact with volcanoes.

Learn more

Ilana Halperin

Exhibition — January 27, 2012 – September 23, 2013

Perhaps for the first time, a striking new solo exhibition investigates the intersection between body stones and geology – new landmass formed inside and outside the body.

Learn more

Gallery

Ilana Halperin

Exhibition Opening "Ilana Halperin: Hand Held Lava" on February 2, 2012

Visit the media library

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009
Foto: Courtsey the artist

Filmstill, From the Eldfell Footage
Center for Short Lived Phenomena (1973/2003)

Filmstill, From the Eldfell Footage Center for Short Lived Phenomena (1973/2003)
Foto: Courtesy of the Global Volcanism Program, Smithsonian Institution

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009

Film Still aus Physical Geology (new land mass/fast time), 2009
Foto: Courtesy the artist

Ilana Halperin

HAND HELD LAVA

Ilana Halperin

HAND HELD LAVA

Laufzeit:

03.02. – 05.05.2011

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Mittwoch, 02. Februar 2011, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Das Berliner Medizinhistorische Museum der Charité zeigte zeitgleich die von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Ausstellung
Ilana Halperin. Steine
Berliner Medizinhistorisches Museum der Charité
Charitéplatz 1 | 10117 Berlin
Kindly supported by Creative Scotland, British Council, and Blue Lagoon, Iceland.
Eröffnung: 26.01.2012, 19 – 21 Uhr
Laufzeit: 27.01. – 23.09.2012

Ein Katalog zu Halperins Arbeiten und beiden Ausstellungen wurde im Frühjahr 2012 veröffentlicht. In Englisch und Deutsch, mit Beiträgen von Gillian Beer, Cambridge, Hugh Tuffen, Lancaster, und Thomas Schnalke, Berlin.


Vulkanausbrüche sind in unserem Bewusstsein oder in den Nachrichten immer wieder präsent. Mit ihrer neuen Einzelausstellung Hand Held Lava gab die Glasgower Künstlerin Ilana Halperin (*1973, New York) einen intensiven Einblick in Phänomene vulkanischen Ursprungs und das Wechselspiel der Lebenszyklen von Menschen und Vulkanen.

Hand Held Lava zeigt die langjährige Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin mit Vulkanen, deren Entstehung und Lebensgeschichte. Ausgehend von persönlichen Erfahrungen stellt Halperin biografische Beziehungen zu vulkanischen Phänomenen her und untersucht Parallelen zwischen geologischen und menschlichen Lebenszyklen. Der Ausstoß von neuem Gestein, die Hervorbringung und Zerstörung neuer Landmassen, die Gegenüberstellung von schnellem und langsamem Zeitfluss: Halperin nutzt die Geologie als Sprache, um unser Verständnis von Zeit und unser Verhältnis zu einer sich stetig wandelnden Umwelt zu erschließen. In der Ausstellung werden neue Arbeiten der Künstlerin mit historischen und geologischen Artefakten in poetische Beziehung gesetzt.

Ein Lavamedaillon aus dem 19. Jahrhundert mit der dazugehörigen handschriftlichen Notiz (ein Geschenk an Alexander von Humboldt, entliehen aus dem Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin) und die Serie der neuen Arbeiten Halperins – mit Lavastempeln, die flüssigem Magma mit einer Temperatur von 1200 °C standhalten, versehene Zeichnungen – reflektieren die Vulkanaufenthalte der Künstlerin und erzählen von der wandelbaren Natur von Landmassen, historischen Ereignissen und ihrer Beziehung zum menschlichen Leben.

Halperins künstlerische Praxis beinhaltet Feldarbeit an zahlreichen Orten wie Hawaii, Island, Frankreich, China, in Museen, Archiven und Laboren und entwickelt sich weiter in Zusammenarbeit mit Geologen wie z. B. dem Global Volcanism Program, dem British Geological Survey und dem Earthwatch Institute. Ihre Arbeiten waren bereits in vielen bedeutenden Ausstellungen zu sehen, und sie hat zahlreiche Preise erhalten. Erst kürzlich wurde sie zum ersten Artist Fellow an das National Museum of Scotland sowie zur Künstler-Kuratorin der Geologie-Sammlung der Music Hall (dem neuen Shrewsbury Museum) in Darwins Geburtsstadt berufen.

Parallel zur Ausstellung in der Schering Stiftung wird eine Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin die Berührungspunkte von Körpersteinen und Geologie untersuchen: neue Landmassen, die innerhalb und außerhalb des (menschlichen oder tierischen) Körpers geformt wurden. Ilana Halperin. Steine am Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museum der Charité ist inspiriert von den Beziehungen der physikalischen Geologie des Körpers zu jener der von uns bewohnten Erde. Begeistert von der Körpersteinesammlung des Museums hat Ilana Halperin eine Serie von neuen Arbeiten angefertigt, die in der Blue Lagoon, Island, geformt wurden. Diese werden neben Skulpturen, die in den kalzifizierenden Quellen der Fontaines Pétrifiantes, Frankreich, entstanden sind, und Leihgaben vom Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin, zu sehen sein. Die von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Ausstellung verspricht einen faszinierenden neuen Blick auf Körpersteine als Artefakte und geologische Phänomene.

Kuratoren:
Sara Barnes (Freie Kuratorin, Berlin)
Andrew Patrizio (Professor für schottische Bildende Kunst, University of Edinburgh)

Die Ausstellung „Hand Held Lava“ wird unterstützt von Creative Scotland.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Im Gespräch: Ilana Halperin und Prof. Achim Brauer, Leiter der Sektion „Klimadynamik und Landschaftsentwicklung“ am Deutschen GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ) Potsdam.

07.02.2012, 19–21 Uhr
Moderiert von der Kuratorin Sara Barnes

Ilana Halperin. New Landmass, Neue Landmasse

Veranstaltung — 23.04.2012

Halperins künstlerisches Schaffen und ihre intellektuellen Leidenschaften bilden ein Gravitationszentrum, das die Essays aus ästhetischen, wissenschaftshistorischen und kulturphilosophischen Perspektiven beleuchten.

Mehr erfahren

Hand Held Lava

Vortrag — 12.03.2012

Halperin, Holmberg und Patrizio untersuchen die Schnittstellen von Geologie, Archäologie, Geschichte und Kunst und versuchen, die anhaltende menschliche Faszination für Vulkane zu verstehen.

Mehr erfahren

Ilana Halperin

Ausstellung — 27.01.2012 – 23.09.2013

Zum ersten Mal nimmt sich eine ambitionierte künstlerische Einzelausstellung der Verbindung von Körpersteinen und Geologie an; es geht um neue Landmassen, die innerhalb und außerhalb des Körpers entstehen.

Mehr erfahren

Galerie

Ilana Halperin

Ausstellungseröffnung "Ilana Halperin: Hand Held Lava" am 2. Februar 2012

Mediathek besuchen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram