Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

TETRAKTYS, Mexico

TETRAKTYS, Mexico
Photo: © Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS in der Schering Stiftung Berlin

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS in der Schering Stiftung Berlin
Photo: Schering Stiftung

Jens Brand

TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand

TETRAKTYS

Duration:

November 25, 2016 – January 15, 2017

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 24. November 2016, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin

Einlass und Performances
Ab 13 bis 18.30 Uhr jeweils zur halben und vollen Stunde


Four automated aerial drones make up the sound installation “TETRAKTYS,” which the Berlin-based artist Jens Brand developed specifically for the Project Space of the Schering Stiftung. “TETRAKTYS” refers to the Music of the Spheres, which is based on the ancient idea that the movement of celestial bodies generates sounds that produce a harmony.

The Pythagorean “harmony of the spheres” and resulting notions of the “musica mundana” (Boethius) and “harmonice mundi” (Johannes Kepler) once served as a universal model for explaining the order of the cosmos. The ideas of a world based on simple numerical proportions and of the unity of art and science continued to fascinate people until well into the modern era.

“TETRAKTYS” plays with these interpretive contexts in subtle and ironic ways. Brand’s humming model of the spheres is generated with the aid of devices that are normally employed in entirely different contexts. The aerial drones, which form the corners of a virtual tetrahedron in space, function as sound generators of a mechanical model of the sky. Their simple chord structures, based on fifths, create changing sound surfaces that, as humming “spheres,” accompany the continually changing spatial constellations of the “celestial bodies.”

“TETRAKTYS” is part of a Jens Brand’s series of experiments with “world machines” – artistic and scientific models designed to challenge aspects of reality and to explain cosmological phenomena. Brand sees his devices and installations such as “G-Player” (2004), “Small World Machine” (2011) or “Space/Site Work II” (2013) as distinctive metaphors about the appropriation of space through sound or of sound through its spatial context. The installation “TETRAKTYS,” too, investigates this tension, going far back into the history of art and science.

“TETRAKTYS” is part of “resonating spaces,” a series of events organized by singuhr — projekte that investigates the topic of “space and sound” from a variety of artistic perspectives. At the same time, the exhibition is a satellite project of the group show “entre límites / zwischen grenzen” organized by singuhr — projekte at Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien (November 26, 2016 – January 15, 2017, Mariannenplatz 2, open daily 11 a.m. – 8 p.m.) and featuring new sound installations by a total of ten Mexican and German artists.

Read more

Jens Brand in conversation with Volker Straebel 

Artist talk — January 11, 2017

The musicologist Volker Straebel will speak with artist Jens Brand about his sound installation “TETRAKTYS".

Learn more

Gallery

Jens Brand

Exhibition Opening "TETRAKTYS" on November 24, 2016

Visit the media library

Partners 

Organized by singuhr e.V. as part of its series “resonating spaces” in cooperation with the Schering Stiftung. A satellite project of “entre límites / zwischen grenzen” – an exhibition and residency project organized by singuhr — projekte, Berlin, and the Goethe-Institut in Mexico on the occasion of the Year of Mexico in Germany. With support from the Berlin Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs.

Profile 

Jens Brand (born 1968 in Dortmund) studied fine arts at the Münster Academy of Fine Arts (1988–1994). Inspired by Phill Niblock and the artistic environment at Paul Panhuysen’s Het Apollohuis, he turned to experimental music and sound art. Since then, he has created a large number of installations, music performances, and cross-media works. In 1992, he began an intensive collaboration with Waldo Riedl and founded mex e. V., an initiative to promote cross-media and experimental music and media projects. Jens Brand has been awarded many fellowships and has received many commissions to create compositions. He was a fellow at Villa Aurora in Los Angeles in 2003 and taught at the Münster Academy of Fine Arts in 2004. Since 2013, he has been a professor at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. Jens Brand has lived and worked in Berlin since 2010.
www.jensbrand.com

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

TETRAKTYS, Mexico

TETRAKTYS, Mexico
Foto: © Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS in der Schering Stiftung Berlin

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS in der Schering Stiftung Berlin
Foto: Schering Stiftung

Jens Brand

TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand

TETRAKTYS

Laufzeit:

25.11.2016 – 15.01.2017

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 24. November 2016, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin

Einlass und Performances
Ab 13 bis 18.30 Uhr jeweils zur halben und vollen Stunde


Vier automatisierte Flugdrohnen formen die Klanginstallation „TETRAKTYS“ des in Berlin lebenden Künstlers Jens Brand, die eigens für den Projektraum der Schering Stiftung entwickelt wurde. „TETRAKTYS“ nimmt Bezug auf die Sphärenmusik, die auf der in der Antike entwickelten Vorstellung beruht, dass durch die Bewegungen von Himmelskörpern Töne entstehen, die einen harmonischen Zusammenklang bilden.

Die pythagoreische Sphärenharmonie und die aus ihr hervorgegangenen Ideen der „Musica Mundana“ (Boethius) und „Harmonice mundi“ (Johannes Kepler) dienten einst als universelles Erklärungsmodell für die Ordnung des Kosmos. Der Gedanke einer auf einfachen Zahlenverhältnissen basierenden Welt und die Vorstellung der Einheit von Kunst und Wissenschaft faszinierten bis weit in die Neuzeit hinein.

„TETRAKTYS“ spielt auf hintergründig-ironische Weise mit diesen Deutungszusammenhängen. Brands klingendes Sphärenmodell wird mithilfe eines Instrumentariums erzeugt, das normalerweise in ganz anderen Kontexten eingesetzt wird. Die Flugdrohnen, die im Raum die Eckpunkte eines virtuellen Tetraeders bilden, fungieren als Klangerzeuger eines mechanischen Himmelsmodells. Ihre einfachen, auf Quintenbeziehungen basierenden Akkordstrukturen bilden changierende Klangflächen aus, die als klingende „Sphären“ die sich ständig verändernden räumlichen Konstellationen der „Himmelskörper“ begleiten.

„TETRAKTYS“ ist Teil einer Reihe von Jens Brands Experimenten mit „Weltmaschinen“ – künstlerischen wie wissenschaftlichen Modellen, die dem Zweck dienen, Aspekte der Wirklichkeit zu hinterfragen bzw. kosmologische Phänomene zu erklären. Apparate und Installationen wie der „G-Player“ (2004), die „Kleine Weltmaschine“ (2011) oder „Raumarbeit II“ (2013) versteht Brand als eigenständige Metaphern über die Aneignung von Raum durch Klang bzw. von Klang durch dessen räumlichen Kontext. Auch die Installation „TETRAKTYS“ untersucht dieses Spannungsfeld und greift dabei weit in die Geschichte von Kunst und Wissenschaft zurück.

„TETRAKTYS“ findet im Rahmen der singuhr — projekte Reihe „resonating spaces“ statt, einer Veranstaltungsserie, die das Thema „Raum und Klang“ aus unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Perspektiven untersucht. Zugleich ist die Ausstellung ein Satellitenprojekt der Gruppenausstellung „entre límites / zwischen grenzen“ von singuhr — projekte im Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien (26.11.16–15.01.17, Mariannenplatz 2, täglich 11–20 Uhr geöffnet) mit neuen Klanginstallationen von insgesamt zehn mexikanischen und deutschen Künstlern.

Weiterlesen

Jens Brand im Gespräch mit Volker Straebel 

Künstlergespräch — 11.01.2017

Der Musikwissenschaftler Volker Straebel spricht mit dem Künstler Jens Brand über seine Soundinstallation „TETRAKTYS“.

Mehr erfahren

Galerie

Jens Brand

Ausstellungseröffnung "TETRAKTYS" am 24. November 2016

Mediathek besuchen

Partner 

Die Ausstellung/Veranstaltung wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:
Veranstaltet von singuhr e.V. in der Reihe „resonating spaces“ in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung. Im Rahmen von „entre límites / zwischen grenzen“ – ein Ausstellungs- und Residenzprojekt von singuhr — projekte, Berlin, und Goethe-Institut Mexiko anlässlich des Mexikojahrs in Deutschland. Gefördert durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Kurzbiographie 

Jens Brand (geb. 1968 in Dortmund) studierte Freie Kunst an der Kunstakademie Münster (1988–1994). Unter dem Einfluss von Phill Niblock und des künstlerischen Umfelds am Het Apollohuis von Paul Panhuysen wandte er sich der Experimentellen Musik und Klangkunst zu. Seither entstanden eine Vielzahl von Installationen, Musik-Performances und intermedialen Arbeiten. 1992 begann er eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Waldo Riedl und gründete mex e.V. – eine Initiative zur Förderung intermedialer und experimenteller Musik und Medienprojekte. Jens Brand erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Kompositionsaufträge. 2003 war er Stipendiat der Villa Aurora in Los Angeles und 2004 Dozent an der Kunstakademie Münster. Seit 2013 lehrt er als Professor an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Jens Brand lebt und arbeitet seit 2010 in Berlin.
www.jensbrand.com

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube