Schering Stiftung

Artist talk 

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung
Photo: Andreas Müller

Volker Straebel

Volker Straebel
Photo: (c) Kai Bienert

Jens Brand in conversation with Volker Straebel

TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand in conversation with Volker Straebel

TETRAKTYS

Date:

January 11, 2017, 6–8 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

We kindly ask you to register by January 6, 2017, at anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de.


The musicologist Volker Straebel will speak with artist Jens Brand about his sound installation “TETRAKTYS,” which is formed  of four aerial drones. “TETRAKTYS” refers to the Pythagorean “harmony of the spheres” and resulting notions of the “musica mundana” (Boethius) and “harmonice mundi” (Johannes Kepler), which once served as a universal model for explaining the order of the cosmos.

Jens Brand (* 1968) studied fine arts at the Münster Academy of Fine Arts (1988–1994). Inspired by Phill Niblock and the artistic environment at Paul Panhuysen’s Het Apollohuis, he turned to experimental music and sound art. Since then, he has created a large number of installations, music performances, and cross-media works.

Volker Straebel (*1969) is musicologist and director of the Sound Studies Master’s program at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK). He focuses on experimental and electro-acoustic music and sound art and has composed and performed electronic music.

Profile 

Jens Brand (born 1968 in Dortmund) studied fine arts at the Münster Academy of Fine Arts (1988–1994). Inspired by Phill Niblock and the artistic environment at Paul Panhuysen’s Het Apollohuis, he turned to experimental music and sound art. Since then, he has created a large number of installations, music performances, and cross-media works. In 1992, he began an intensive collaboration with Waldo Riedl and founded mex e. V., an initiative to promote cross-media and experimental music and media projects. Jens Brand has been awarded many fellowships and has received many commissions to create compositions. He was a fellow at Villa Aurora in Los Angeles in 2003 and taught at the Münster Academy of Fine Arts in 2004. Since 2013, he has been a professor at the Kunsthochschule Kassel. Jens Brand has lived and worked in Berlin since 2010.
www.jensbrand.com

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch 

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung

Jens Brand: TETRAKTYS, Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung
Foto: Andreas Müller

Volker Straebel

Volker Straebel
Foto: (c) Kai Bienert

Jens Brand im Gespräch mit Volker Straebel

TETRAKTYS

Jens Brand im Gespräch mit Volker Straebel

TETRAKTYS

Termin:

11.01.2017, 18–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Wir bitten um Anmeldung bis zum 6.1.2017 unter anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de.


Der Musikwissenschaftler Volker Straebel spricht mit dem Künstler Jens Brand über seine Soundinstallation „TETRAKTYS“, die aus vier Flugdrohnen gebildet ist. „TETRAKTYS“ nimmt Bezug auf die pythagoreische Sphärenharmonie und die aus ihr hervorgegangenen Ideen der „Musica Mundana“ (Boethius) und „Harmonice mundi“ (Johannes Kepler), die einst als universelles Erklärungsmodell für die Ordnung des Kosmos dienten.

Jens Brand (*1968) studierte Freie Kunst an der Kunstakademie Münster (1988–1994). Unter dem Einfluss von Phill Niblock und des künstlerischen Umfelds am Het Apollohuis von Paul Panhuysen wandte er sich der Experimentellen Musik und Klangkunst zu. Seither entstanden eine Vielzahl von Installationen, Musik-Performances und intermedialen Arbeiten.

Volker Straebel (*1969) ist Musikwissenschafter und leitet den Master-Studiengang Sound Studies am Berlin Career College der Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK). Er beschäftigt sich mit elektroakustischer und experimenteller Musik und Klangkunst und ist als Komponist und Performer tätig.

Kurzbiographie 

Jens Brand (geb. 1968 in Dortmund) studierte Freie Kunst an der Kunstakademie Münster (1988–1994). Unter dem Einfluss von Phill Niblock und des künstlerischen Umfelds am Het Apollohuis von Paul Panhuysen wandte er sich der Experimentellen Musik und Klangkunst zu. Seither entstanden eine Vielzahl von Installationen, Musik-Performances und intermedialen Arbeiten. 1992 begann er eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Waldo Riedl und gründete mex e.V. – eine Initiative zur Förderung intermedialer und experimenteller Musik und Medienprojekte. Jens Brand erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Kompositionsaufträge. 2003 war er Stipendiat der Villa Aurora in Los Angeles und 2004 Dozent an der Kunstakademie Münster. Seit 2013 lehrt er als Professor an der Kunsthochschule Kassel. Jens Brand lebt und arbeitet seit 2010 in Berlin.
www.jensbrand.com

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram