Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Paul Vanouse, Relative Velocity Inscription Device Middle Projection

Paul Vanouse, Relative Velocity Inscription Device Middle Projection

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Performance

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Performance

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol ©

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol ©

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Skull and Bones

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Skull and Bones

Paul Vanouse

Fingerprints...

Paul Vanouse

Fingerprints...

Duration:

January 28 – March 26, 2011

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 27. January 2011, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Monday through Saturday: 11 am until 6 pm
Additionally: Sunday, January 30, 11 am until 6 pm

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin

On the occasion of the exhibition, the anthology Fingerprints…Index, Imprint, Trace, edited by Jens Hauser, will appear in the Schering Stiftung’s publication series with argobooks.

Related events in cooperation with transmediale.11
February 1 – 6, 2011. at Haus der Kulturen der Welt | John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin
Fingerprints… is an official Satellite Partner of transmediale.11, where it will be echoed by the live installation Latent Figure Protocol and a panel at the transmediale.11 conference on February 4, 2011. Supported by the Schering Stiftung, the artist and the curator as well as internationally renowned scientists will enlarge upon the issues raised by the exhibition.

February 2 – 6, 2011, 10 am – 4 pm & 7 pm – 10 pm | Installation Latent Figure Protocol, HacKaWay Zone


curated by Jens Hauser

The exhibition Fingerprints… at the Schering Stiftung’s project space will showcase the performative installations and live laboratories by US-American biomedia artist Paul Vanouse. Curated by Jens Hauser, the exhibition presents the world premiere of the “Suspect Inversion Center”, an operational laboratory in which Vanouse creates identical “genetic fingerprints” of criminals and celebrities from his own DNA. It also features new motifs of the “Latent Figure Protocol”, as well as the “Relative Velocity Inscription Device” – a cynical molecular race reflecting on biologically legitimized racism, in which bits of DNA, instead of bodies, compete by testing their “genetic fitness”. The exhibition marks a continuation of the Schering Stiftung’s effort to promote the public discussion about the role of images in art and science.

Vanouse’s biotechnological installations do not only challenge the codes and images of contemporary knowledge production but also question the methods behind (natural) scientific findings in general: What do uncritically accepted commonplace catchwords such as “genetic fingerprint” conceal? To what extend does the technical construction of alleged naturalness notarize clichés and prejudices? Vanouse diverts biotechnologies and scientific imaging techniques from their intended uses, and amalgamates auratic iconography with technical images. Employing gel electrophoresis as artistic medium, he intentionally applies a method that bears analogies to photography: while photography allowed viewers to draw seemingly objective conclusions about human qualities based on physiognomic characteristics of the body, today, increasingly questionable social conclusions are derived from ontologized body fragments such as genes.

Side events 

Performance Latent Figure Protocol as part of the opening ceremony of transmediale.11

February 01, 2011, 9 p.m.

HacKaWay Zone
Additional performances Latent Figure Protocol: February 3 and 5, 2011, 8 pm, HacKaWay Zone

Panel Fingerprints? Identity, Indexicality and Biomedia

February 04, 2011, 2–4 p.m.
with Paul Vanouse, Simon Cole, Jens Hauser, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, chaired by Marie-Luise Angerer

The convergence of information and laboratory technological procedures engenders biomedia that are increasingly being appropriated by the arts. Based on the performative gel electrophoresis works by U.S. artist Paul Vanouse, the panel examines the political, science-historical and aesthetic aspects of contemporary biologisms and molecularisms.

Gallery

Paul Vanouse

Exhibit Opening "Fingerprints..." on January 27, 2011

Visit the media library

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Paul Vanouse, Relative Velocity Inscription Device Middle Projection

Paul Vanouse, Relative Velocity Inscription Device Middle Projection

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Performance

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Performance

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol ©

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol ©

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Skull and Bones

Paul Vanouse, Latent Figure Protocol Skull and Bones

Paul Vanouse

Fingerprints...

Paul Vanouse

Fingerprints...

Laufzeit:

28.01. – 26.03.2011

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 27. Januar 2011, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr
verlängert bis 16. April 2011

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint in der Schriftenreihe der Schering Stiftung die Publikation Fingerprints… Index, Abdruck, Spur, hrsg. von Jens Hauser im Verlag argobooks.

Begleitprogramm in Kooperation mit transmediale.11
01. bis 06. Februar 2011 im Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10 | 10557 Berlin
Fingerprints… war offizieller Satelliten-Partner der transmediale.11, auf der parallel Paul Vanouses Live-Installation Latent Figure Protocol gezeigt wird. Am 04. Februar 2011 fand auf der transmediale.11 Konferenz ein durch die Schering Stiftung gefördertes Symposium statt, bei dem neben Künstler und Kurator internationale Wissenschaftler die von Vanouse aufgeworfenen Fragen vertieften.

02. – 06.02.2011, 10 – 16 & 17 – 22 Uhr | Installation Latent Figure Protocol, HacKaWay Zone


kuratiert von Jens Hauser

Fingerprints… im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung ist die erste monografische Ausstellung der performativen Installationen und molekularbiologischen Live-Laboratorien des US-amerikanischen Biomedien-Künstlers Paul Vanouse in Deutschland. Die von Jens Hauser kuratierte Ausstellung präsentiert die Weltpremiere des „Suspect Inversion Center“, in dem Paul Vanouse live aus seiner eigenen DNA identische „genetische Fingerabdrücke“ gesuchter Krimineller und Prominenter herstellt. Weiter werden neue Motive seines „Latent Figure Protocol“ und das „Relative Velocity Inscription Device“ gezeigt, ein zynisches Wettrennen, bei dem DNA-Moleküle ihre genetische Fitness testen. Mit der Ausstellung setzt die Schering Stiftung ihr Engagement für einen öffentlichen Dialog über das Bild in Kunst und Wissenschaft fort.

Mit seinen biotechnologischen Installationen stellt Vanouse nicht nur Codes und Bilder heutiger Wissensproduktion in Frage, sondern auch die Methoden (natur-)wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis: Was verbirgt sich hinter unkritisch hingenommenen Floskeln wie „genetischer Fingerabdruck“? Inwieweit werden mit der technischen Konstruktion vermeintlicher Natürlichkeit Klischees und Vorurteile beglaubigt? Vanouse zweckentfremdet Biotechnologien und wissenschaftliche Bildgebungstechniken, mischt auratische Ikonografie und technisches Bild. Mit der Gelelektrophorese wählt er bewusst ein Verfahren, welches Analogien zur Fotografie aufweist. Diente diese einst der Physiognomik und der Anthropometrie, um von „objektiv“ festgestellten Körpermerkmalen auf vermeintliche Eigenschaften zu schließen, so werden heute aus ontologisierten Körperfragmenten wie Genen zunehmend gesellschaftlich fragwürdige Schlussfolgerungen gezogen.

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Performance Latent Figure Protocol im Rahmen der Eröffnung der transmediale.11

01.02.2011, 21 Uhr

HacKaWay Zone
Weitere Performances Latent Figure Protocol: 03. & 05.02.2011, 20 Uhr, HacKaWay Zone

Symposium: Fingerprints? Identity, Indexicality and Biomedia

04.02.2011, 14–16 Uhr
mit Paul Vanouse, Simon Cole, Jens Hauser, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, moderiert von Marie-Luise Angerer

Die Konvergenz informations- und labortechnischer Verfahren bringt Biomedien hervor, die auch die Kunst zunehmend einsetzt. Ausgehend von den performativen Gelelektrophorese-Arbeiten des US-amerikanischen Künstlers Paul Vanouse untersucht das Panel die politischen, wissenschaftshistorischen und ästhetischen Facetten zeitgenössischer Biologismen und Molekularismen.

Galerie

Paul Vanouse

Ausstellungseröffnung "Fingerprints..." am 27. Januar 2011

Mediathek besuchen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram