Schering Stiftung

Project 

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration from Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Portrait of ensemble mosaik

Portrait of ensemble mosaik
Photo: ©Giuseppe Mondi

SYSTEMA NATURAE

by Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle

SYSTEMA NATURAE

by Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle

Date:

June 19, 2017, 6–8 p.m.

Venue:

Berlin Natural History Museum
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin

Admission: 10€

Flyer

Tickets can be reserved by phone (00 49.30.39 03 08 30) or by e-mail


In 2013, the composers Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle began their collaboration on the four-part composition cycle SYSTEMA NATURAE, consisting of the compositions “Regnum animale” (2013), “Regnum vegetabile” (2014), “Regnum lapideum” (2016), and “Fossilia” (2016/17). On June 19, 2017, at 6 p.m. and at 9 p.m., the entire cycle will have its premiere in a performance by the Ensemble Mosaik at the Berlin Natural History Museum. Every part of the cycle takes as its subject a branch of nature or natural science. Here, the two composers refer to the medieval cataloging of research objects on the one hand and to the classification scheme of Carl von Linné’s “Systema Naturae” on the other hand.

Combining scientific observation and artistic creativity, the composers Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle have written a collection of short pieces, whose fictional titles follow the principle of “binomial nomenclature.” At the Berlin Natural History Museum, concertgoers will not only be able to listen to the compositions. The rooms become, moreover, starting points for a production that makes generous use of the museum’s space: the musicians and electromechanical instruments are positioned at various places around the museum. The performance also highlights the sensual appeal of the music and the instruments by making it possible for the audience to see and hear them from up close. The surrounding exhibits offer an additional level of reflection, giving the promenade concert a special atmosphere.

The Ensemble Mosaik is one of the most important ensembles for modern and contemporary classical music and is celebrating its twentieth birthday in 2017. The Schering Stiftung supports the premiere of SYSTEMA NATURAE not only because it represents a meeting of science and art at both the visual and acoustic level; the Foundation also expressly honors the Ensemble Mosaik for its important contributions to the development and promotion of modern and contemporary classical music.

SYSTEMA NATURAE

Premiere of the Entire Cycle by Mauro Lanza and Andrea Valle

Regnum animale (2013) for string trio and electromechanical objects
Regnum vegetabile (2014) for horn trio, string trio, and electromechanical objects
Regnum lapideum (2016) for ensemble and electromechanical objects
Fossilia (2016/17) for 10 musicians and electromechanical objects

Read more

Partners 

A production of the Ensemble Mosaik, with support from the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, the Schering Stiftung, and the German Music Council. Composition commissioned by Ensemble Mosaik, RepertorioZero, and 2e2m, 2017

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung
Deutscher Musikrat
ensemble mosaik
RepertorioZero
2e2m

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Illustration aus Carl von Linné, Systema Naturae

Porträt des ensemble mosaik

Porträt des ensemble mosaik
Foto: ©Giuseppe Mondi

SYSTEMA NATURAE

von Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle

SYSTEMA NATURAE

von Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle

Termin:

19.06.2017, 18–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Museum für Naturkunde Berlin
Invalidenstraße 43
10115 Berlin

Eintritt: 10€

Programmflyer

Reservierung unter Tel. 00 49.30.39 03 08 30 oder via E-Mail


Im Jahr 2013 begannen die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle ihre Zusammenarbeit an dem vierteiligen Kompositionszyklus SYSTEMA NATURAE, der die Kompositionen „Regnum animale“ (2013), „Regnum vegetabile“ (2014), „Regnum lapideum“ (2016) und „Fossilia“ (2016/17) umfasst. Am 19. Juni 2017, um 18 sowie um 21 Uhr, wird das ensemble mosaik den Gesamtzyklus im Museum für Naturkunde Berlin uraufführen. Jeder Teil des Zyklus’ thematisiert eine Sparte der Natur bzw. Naturerforschung. Dabei beziehen sich die beiden Komponisten einerseits auf die im Mittelalter entwickelte Katalogisierung von Forschungsobjekten und andererseits auf die Klassifizierungslehre, die auf Carl von Linnés „Systema Naturae“ zurückgeht.

Im Spannungsfeld von wissenschaftlicher Betrachtung und künstlerischer Kreativität haben die Komponisten Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle gemeinsam Stücke-Sammlungen entwickelt, deren fiktive Titel dem Prinzip der „binominalen Nomenklatur“ folgen. Im Museum für Naturkunde werden dem Konzertbesucher jedoch nicht nur die Kompositionen zu Gehör gebracht. Dessen Räume werden überdies Ausgangspunkt für eine raumgreifende Inszenierung: Spielpositionen und elektromechanische Instrumente sind an verschiedenen Orten arrangiert. Dem sinnlichen Reiz der Musik und der Instrumente wird Rechnung getragen, indem sie aus nächster Nähe zu hören und zu betrachten sind. Dabei eröffnen die umgebenden Ausstellungsobjekte dem Publikum eine zusätzliche Reflexionsebene und geben dem Wandelkonzert eine besondere Atmosphäre.

Das ensemble mosaik gehört zu den wichtigsten Ensembles für Neue Musik und wird 2017 zwanzig Jahre alt. Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Uraufführung von SYSTEMA NATURAE nicht nur, weil sich hier Wissenschaft und Kunst auf visueller und akustischer Ebene begegnen, sondern auch, um das ensemble mosaik ausdrücklich für seine bedeutenden Beiträge zur Weiterentwicklung und Förderung der Neuen Musik zu würdigen.

SYSTEMA NATURAE

Uraufführung des Gesamtzyklus von Mauro Lanza und Andrea Valle

Regnum animale (2013) für Streichtrio und elektromechanische Objekte
Regnum vegetabile (2014) für Bläsertrio, Streichtrio und elektromechanische Objekte
Regnum lapideum (2016) für Ensemble und elektromechanische Objekte
Fossilia (2016/17) für 10 Musiker und elektromechanische Objekte

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Eine Produktion des ensemble mosaik, gefördert von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, der Schering Stiftung und dem Deutschen Musikrat. Kompositionsauftrag von ensemble mosaik, RepertorioZero und 2e2m, 2017

Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung
Deutscher Musikrat
ensemble mosaik
RepertorioZero
2e2m

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram