Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Vital Forces and the Age of Ether

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke

Vital Forces and the Age of Ether

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke

Date:

August 28, 2014, 6:30–8 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

“Lebenskräfte. Ätherzeiten. Zum Neustart der Medizin um 1850” (Vital Forces and the Age of Ether: Relaunching Medicine around 1850) – in German
The lectures and the exhibition are free and open to the public. Due to limited capacity, please register at anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de.


The Schering Stiftung organizes as part of the exhibition “Small Survey on Nothingness” by Christoph Keller a lecture evening  with Director of the Berlin Museum of Medical History at the Charité, Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke on “Vital Forces and the Age of Ether: Relaunching Medicine around 1850”.

When the New England Journal of Medicine, on the occasion of its 200th anniversary, asked its readers to name landmark discoveries that have revolutionized medicine, the most important discovery turned out to be anaesthesia – the possibility of painless surgery, without the patient being conscious of the pain. On October 16, 1846, the Boston dentist William Morton administered the first successful ether anaesthesia in the presence of several colleagues. The news spread like wildfire around the globe. Morton’s procedure was quickly and widely copied. Anaesthesia was born.

The use of ether in medicine is one of the dimensions that Christoph Keller addresses in his exhibition “Small Survey on Nothingness.” The lecture by Professor Thomas Schnalke casts a wider eye on the discipline of medicine around 1850. Like few other eras in the history of medicine, this period was marked by radical changes at all levels. In the lab, but also at the patient’s bedside, a rational-scientific view was taking hold. To distinguish itself from the idea of the vital forces, the focus was now on Biochemistry and body mechanics, specific sensory energies and “animal electricity,” cells, tissues and organs. Overnight, sulfuric ether became the symbolic substance of a whole era. Gaseous and colorless in appearance and thus absolutely “nothing” – or so it seemed –, ether’s material presence produced effects that both doctors and patients previously could only have dreamed of. It was now possible to relieve patients of pain and make them unconscious in a controlled manner. Enormous possibilities opened up to surgeons. At the same time, they worried that something would get lost …

Read more

You might also be interested in

September 03, 2014

Emptiness, Silence, “Nothingness” in Works of Art

Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss

September 28, 2014

PARANOMIA

A publication edited by Christoph Keller

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Lebenskräfte. Ätherzeiten.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke

Lebenskräfte. Ätherzeiten.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke

Termin:

28.08.2014, 18:30–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Der Vortrag und der Besuch der Ausstellung sind kostenlos und richten sich an die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. Aufgrund begrenzter Platzzahl bitten wir um Anmeldung unter anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de.


Die Schering Stiftung veranstaltet im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Small Survey on Nothingness“ von Christoph Keller einen Vortragsabend mit dem Direktor des Berliner Medizinhistorischen Museums der Charité, Prof. Dr. Thomas Schnalke, zum Thema „Lebenskräfte. Ätherzeiten. Zum Neustart der Medizin um 1850“.

Als das New England Journal of Medicine zu seinem 200. Geburtstag nach bewegenden Entdeckungen, die die Medizin revolutioniert haben, suchte, befanden die Leser: Am wichtigsten sei die Möglichkeit einer schmerzfreien Operation, ohne diese bewusst miterleben zu müssen – die Narkose. Am 16. Oktober 1846 setzt der amerikanische Zahnarzt William Morton in Boston erstmals im Kreise seiner Kollegen bei einem Kranken eine Äthernarkose – mit Erfolg. Die Nachricht verbreitet sich in Windeseile um den Globus. Rasch findet Morton zahllose Nachahmer in der Medizin. Die Anästhesie ist in der Welt.

Die Nutzung von Äther in der Medizin ist eine der Dimensionen, die Christoph Keller im Rahmen seiner Ausstellung „Small Survey on Nothingness“ eröffnet. Der Vortrag von Professor Thomas Schnalke hebt mit einem weiter gezogenen Blick in die Medizin um 1850 an. Wie kaum eine andere Ära der Medizingeschichte markiert diese Zeit einen radikalen Wandel auf allen Ebenen. Im Labor, aber auch am Krankenbett hält ein nüchtern-naturwissenschaftliches Denken Einzug. In Abgrenzung zur Idee der Lebenskraft geht es um Lebenschemie und Körpermechanik, spezifische Sinnesenergie und „thierische Elektrizität“, Zellen, Gewebe und Organe. Schwefeläther etabliert sich auf einen Schlag als Chiffre-Substanz der Epoche. In seiner gasförmig-farblosen Erscheinung offenbar ein absolutes „Nichts“, zeitigt es in seiner stofflichen Präsenz Effekte, von welchen Ärzte wie Patienten bislang nur zu träumen wagten. Schmerz und Bewusstsein können dem Patienten kontrolliert genommen werden. Dem Chirurgen öffnen sich ungeahnte Möglichkeiten. Gleichzeitig befürchtet er aber auch Verluste…

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

03.09.2014

Die Leere, das Schweigen, das 'Nichts' in Kunstwerken

Prof. Dr. Christina Weiss

28.09.2014

PARANOMIA

Publikation hrsg. von Christoph Keller

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram