Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Graphic: Arto Schudy

Graphic: Arto Schudy

Coral reef in Zanzibar

Coral reef in Zanzibar
Photo: Anja Wegner

Allard's Clownfish (Amphiprion allardi) and a sea anemone on a coral reef in Zanzibar

Allard's Clownfish (Amphiprion allardi) and a sea anemone on a coral reef in Zanzibar
Photo: Anja Wegner

OMI | Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

Symposium

OMI | Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

Symposium

Date:

June 01, 2024, 10 a.m.–6:30 p.m.

Venue:

Floating University
Lilienthalstrasse 32
10965 Berlin

The symposium will be held in English.


The one-day symposium OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections at the Floating University Berlin is dedicated to the manifold relationships with water.

Program

10 am – 1 pm Aquatic Agencies
Talks and discussions
With David Farò, Filipa Ramos, aqui Thami

Lunch (vegetarian)

2 pm – 5 pm Interspecies Interfaces
Talks and discussions
With Aouefa Amoussouvi, Louise Firth, James Matharu

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm Performance
Maya Minder

until 8 pm Bar & Get-together

[Please register below]

What to expect

The symposium will explore different perspectives on water, which offers habitats for life in rivers, lakes, and the ocean. Conversely, the fluidity of water facilitates a different way of thinking from the perspective of the water as the biggest habitat on earth, legal entity, and massive storage space for thermal energy and carbon dioxide. Moreover, thinking with the sea also demands drawing attention to existing interdependencies between human and non-human species in this geographical sphere.

Thinking about and with water means involving biological, ecological, and anthropological issues. Artists and curators complement the view of these fields by introducing artistic, performative, and experimental means to explore topics such as interspecies relationships. By bringing practitioners from various fields and disciplines together, the symposium wishes to raise awareness of the complex and multifaceted ecological challenges while also illustrating the opportunities for transformation. Questioning traditional Western ideas, negotiating human-nature relationships and sensitizing for other ontologies to establish new ways of co-existing are the central concerns of the presentations and discussions.

The term Omi, meaning “water” in Yoruba, connects the exhibition Omi Libations with the symposium OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections. Inspired by the concept of the pluriverse – a world where many worlds fit – the symposium brings together the respective methods, cultures, and practices of scientists, artists, anthropologists, and curators who build bridges between science, art, and activism, thereby tackling ecological problems and proposing solutions.

Curated by Anja Wegner

Read more

Online registration

Registration Symposium: OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

 


Contact details:


The participation in the symposium is free of charge, food will be provided. Please let us know which parts of the program you would like to register for:

Unfortunately, not all required fields have been filled in correctly.

Thank you for registering! You will receive a confirmation to the e-mail address provided shortly.

An error occurred while sending the form.

Registration

Gallery

Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024
Opening of the exhibition Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations at the Schering Stiftung, April 24, 2024

Opening

Tabita Rezaire [Amakaba] x Yussef Agbo-Ola [Olaniyi Studio] Omi Libations

Visit the media library

Omi Libations 

Common Ground 

Exhibition — April 25 – July 07, 2024

Omi: Yemoja Temple - the exhibition by Tabita Rezaire x Yussef Agbo-Ola is dedicated to the Yoruba mother deity of waters.

Learn more
Dialogue — 2021 – 2024

Insights into the "Common Ground" project between the scientists Alex Jordan and Anja Wegner and the artists Tabita Rezaira and Yussef Agbo-Ola

Learn more

Downloads 

Flyer Symposium

Download File

Participants 

Anja Wegner is a transdisciplinary researcher and marine science educator. She is currently a fellow at the Rachel Carson Center at LMU Munich and finishing her PhD in the Behavioural Evolution Lab at Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior, studying damselfish and their social behavior on physical structures. Her project at the nexus of ecology, art, and architecture aims at establishing a practice of co-designing with marine fish in collaboration with artists, architects and designers. Scuba diving, she collects data and makes observations for quantitative behavioral analysis. Combining those findings with the perspectives and approaches from different disciplines, Anja wants to learn more about the fish while creating a non-gestational kinship with the animals she observes. Her approach allows her to reflect on her research and the process itself and to contextualize it within a multispecies framework.

Close

Alex Jordan leads an independent research group based at the Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior, and works in oceans, lakes, and forests where animals live and have evolved. By working with animals in their own environments, he seeks insight into their subjective experiences, challenging our entrenched views on animal consciousness, experience, and perception of the world. Jordan is interested in exploring human limits of understanding other organisms, as well as the rules and criteria by which we judge non-human experience. By examining the social lives, aesthetic preferences, and subjective experiences of aquatic animals, the lab attempts to build a bridge of understanding between the human and non-human experience of our shared world. While maintaining a primary role in the scientific realm, Jordan and his team are also active at the interface of art and science, collaborating widely with artists, architects, and philosophers.

Close

Filipa Ramos, PhD, is Lecturer at the master’s program of the Institute Art Gender Nature HGK Basel FHNW and runs the Art & Nature seminars. She is a writer and curator. Her research focuses on how art and culture address ecology, in particular the modes in which contemporary art fosters interspecies relationships across humans and other animals. Filipa Ramos is curator of Art Basel Film and a founding curator of Vdrome, a program of screenings of films by visual artists and filmmakers. She co-curated, with Lucia Pietroiusti, Persons Persones, the 8th Biennale Gherdëina (2022) and Bodies of Water, the 13th Shanghai Biennale (2021). In the past, she was Associate Editor of Manifesta Journal and contributed for Documenta 13 (2012) and 14 (2017). She authored Lost and Found (Silvana Editoriale, 2009) and edited Animals (Whitechapel Gallery/MIT Press, 2016). She is curator of Bestiari, the Catalan Presence at the 2024 Venice Biennale and is co-curating, also with Lucia Pietroiuisti, Songs for the Changing Seasons for the First Climate Biennale in Vienna in 2024.

Close

David is a postdoctoral researcher at the Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries in Berlin, and holds a PhD in Environmental Engineering from the University of Trento. His research focuses on the interplay between hydro-morphological and ecological processes in rivers, with the aim to develop novel methods to support practical river management and restoration. To increase effectiveness and use of the developed approaches, and to better support policy making, his work is conducted in collaborations with local environmental agencies and other stakeholders. In 2019 David co-founded the River Collective, an environmental NGO based in Austria, which by fostering transdisciplinary collaborations between students, scientists, artists and activists, aims to support the conservation and the protection of river ecosystems. Within the River Collective, David has collaborated in various initiatives, such as the “Students for Rivers Camp”, a yearly summer school for university students, the “Actions for Rivers”, an incubator for environmental projects, and “Multispecies Resistance”, an interdisciplinary project to map and illustrate the biodiversity of the European continent.

Close

Louise Firth is a marine ecologist and lecturer in environmental sustainability at University College Cork, Ireland. Her research focuses on understanding the ecology of the marine built environment and she is particularly interested in developing novel ways of making space for nature in human-dominated environments. She has published 85 peer-reviewed papers (48 on marine artificial structures), co-authored a Conservation Evidence Synopsis on biodiversity enhancement on marine artificial structures, written eight advisory reports (including one for IUCN – International Union for Conservation of Nature – on marine artificial structures), and contributed to the UN World Ocean Assessment II (on cities and sea level rise).

 

 

 

 

Close

Aouefa Amoussouvi (she/her) is a French-Beninese multidisciplinary researcher, curator and facilitator based in Berlin. She holds a PhD in Theoretical Molecular Biophysics from Berlin Humboldt University (2019). Her work explores rituals, technologies, intersectional and decolonial feminist narratives in science. She addresses the power structures within Western academia and aims to create alternative practices for collective knowledge production on digital colonialism, ecology, menstruation, food production, or the body-mind relationship, among other topics. She also investigates technologies for healing and maintenance of transgenerational memories and is trained in process-oriented psychology. She is currently co-curator in the research, exhibition, 3-day discourse program and publication project “The Roots of Our Hands Deep as Revolt. Entangled Colonialities of the Green”(2023-2024). A project initiated by Nyabinghi Lab in cooperation with HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Chimurenga and Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien.

Close

aqui is a Thangmi woman of the Kiratimma first peoples of the Himalayas. She uses social exchanges and develops safe spaces to position art as a medium of healing in community. aqui's interdisciplinary practice ranges across ceremonial interventions, performances, drawings, zine-making, fly posting, and public intervention, brought together by participant involvement; most of her work is self-funded and realized in collaboration. sister library (@sister.library) founded by aqui is an evolving art work that engages in the in-depth reflection on the visual and reading culture of our times. It is also the first community-owned and community-run feminist traveling library of South Asia. aqui also collaboratively runs Bombay Underground, an artist collective that hosted South Asia's first zine fest, Bombay Zine Fest, and is central to the underground publishing scene, and Dharavi Art Room, a space for children and women in Dharavi to explore creatively.

Close

James Matharu is a postdoctoral research fellow with the ‘Learning Natures' Project, led by anthropologist Dr. Francesca Mezzenzana at the Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, LMU (Munich). The project aims to build a comparative account of children’s experiences of the ‘natural world’ cross-culturally, through collaborations between social-cultural anthropologists, experimental psychologists, and philosophers. This involves fieldwork in the Ecuadorian and Chilean Amazon, the US, Germany and Italy. After studying philosophy and anthropology at the London School of Economics, James completed the BPhil and DPhil in philosophy at Oxford University, focused on fleshing a nondual metaphysics of mind, language, and learning. This metaphysics informs his Project work, developing a nondual psychological anthropology with children’s agency at its center.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Floating University Berlin
Rheinsberger Preussenquelle

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Korallenriff in Sansibar

Korallenriff in Sansibar
Foto: Anja Wegner

Allard's Clownfish (Amphiprion allardi), und eine Seeanemone an einem Korallenriff in Sansibar

Allard's Clownfish (Amphiprion allardi), und eine Seeanemone an einem Korallenriff in Sansibar
Foto: Anja Wegner

OMI | Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

Symposium

OMI | Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

Symposium

Termin:

01.06.2024, 10–18:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Floating University
Lilienthalstrasse 32
10965 Berlin

Das Symposium findet auf Englisch statt.


Das eintägige Symposium OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections an der Floating University Berlin widmet sich unseren vielfältigen Beziehungen zum Wasser.

Programm

10:00 – 13:00 Aquatic Agencies
Vorträge und Diskussion
Mit David Farò, Filipa Ramos, aqui Thami

Lunch (vegetarisch)

14:00 – 17:00 Interspecies Interfaces
Vorträge und Diskussion
Mit Aouefa Amoussouvi, Louise Firth, James Matharu

17:30 – 18:30 Performance 
Maya Minder

bis 20:00 Bar & Get Together

Was euch erwartet

Das Symposium stellt unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf den Lebensraum Wasser in Flüssen, Seen und Meeren vor. Die Fluidität des Wassers macht neue, interdisziplinäre und unkonventionelle Perspektiven auf dieses Element sowie seine Bedeutung als größtem Habitat der Erde, als Rechtsperson und als gigantischer Wärme- und Kohlenstoffspeicher unabdingbar. Mit dem Meer zu denken bedeutet, die wechselseitigen Abhängigkeiten der Spezies Mensch mit anderen Lebewesen in diesem geografischen Raum zu erkunden.

Über das und mit dem Wasser nachzudenken, erfordert auch, Aspekte der Biologie, Ökologie und Anthropologie gleichermaßen zu diskutieren. Ergänzend dazu stellen Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen künstlerische, performative und experimentelle Mittel vor, anhand derer die Beziehungen zwischen den Spezies neu ausgelotet und vertieft werden können. Im Verlauf des Symposiums treffen Praktiker*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen und Disziplinen aufeinander, die ein Bewusstsein für die komplexen ökologischen Herausforderungen um das Wasser wachrufen und gleichzeitig Chancen für Veränderung und Neuansätze aufzeigen.

In ihren Präsentationen und Diskussionen hinterfragen sie herkömmliche westliche Vorstellungen von Meer und Natur, verhandeln das Verhältnis des Menschen zu seiner Umwelt und sensibilisieren für andere Ontologien, um neue Wege des Miteinanders aufzuzeigen.

Der Begriff Omi, der in der Sprache der Yoruba „Wasser“ bedeutet, verbindet die Ausstellung Omi Libations mit dem Symposium OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections. Inspiriert von dem Konzept des Pluriversums – einer Welt, die viele Welten vereint – bündelt das Symposium Ansätze, Kulturen und Praktiken von Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen, Anthropolog*innen und Kurator*innen.

Kuratiert von Anja Wegner

Weiterlesen

Online-Anmeldung

Registration Symposium: OMI – Oceans of Multispecies Interconnections

 


Kontaktdaten:


Die Teilnahme am Symposium ist kostenlos und für Verpflegung ist gesorgt. Bitte teilen Sie uns mit, für welche Programmpunkte Sie sich verbindlich anmelden möchten:

Es wurden leider nicht alle notwendigen Felder korrekt ausgefüllt.

Vielen Dank für Ihre Anmeldung! Sie erhalten in Kürze eine Bestätigung an die angegebene E-Mail Adresse.

Beim Absenden des Formulars ist ein Fehler aufgetreten.

Anmeldung

Omi Libations 

Common Ground 

Ausstellung — 25.04. – 07.07.2024

Omi: Yemoja Temple - die Ausstellung von Tabita Rezaire x Yussef Agbo-Ola widmet sich der Yoruba-Muttergottheit der Gewässer.

Mehr erfahren
Dialog — 2021 – 2024

Einblicke in das "Common Ground" Projekt zwischen den Wissenschaftler*innen Alex Jordan und Anja Wegner und den Künstler*innen Tabita Rezaira und Yussef Agbo-Ola

Mehr erfahren

Teilnehmende: 

Anja Wegner ist transdiziplinäre Forscherin und Meereskundepädagogin. Aktuell ist sie Fellow am Rachel Carson Center der LMU München und schließt ihre Doktorarbeit am Behavioural Evolution Lab des Max-Planck-Institut für Verhaltensbiologie mit einer Studie über das Sozialverhalten von Riffbarschen und künstlichen ab. Ihr Projekt an der Schnittstelle von Ökologie, Kunst und Architektur hat zum Ziel, in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen, Architekt*innen und Designer*innen eine Praxis des Co-Designs mit Meeresfischen zu etablieren. Beim Forschungstauchen sammelt sie Daten und stellt Beobachtungen zum Zweck quantitativer Verhaltensanalysen an. Indem sie ihre Forschungsergebnisse mit den Perspektiven und Methoden anderer Disziplinen kombiniert, möchte Anja zum einen mehr über die Fische erfahren und zum anderen eine speziesübergreifende Verwandtschaft mit den von ihr beobachteten Tieren herstellen. Ihr Ansatz ermöglicht es ihr, über ihre Forschungsarbeiten und -prozesse zu reflektieren und diese im Rahmen der Multispecies Studies einzuordnen.

Schliessen

Alex Jordan leitet eine unabhängige Forschungsgruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Verhaltensbiologie und forscht in Meeren, Seen und Wäldern, die Tieren als Lebens- und Entwicklungsraum dienen. Indem er die Tiere in ihrem natürlichen Umfeld beobachtet, will er Einblicke in ihre subjektiven Erfahrungen gewinnen und an eingefahrenen Ansichten zu tierischem Bewusstsein und darüber, wie Tiere die Welt erfahren und wahrnehmen, rütteln. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt der Frage, wo unser menschliches Verständnis für andere Organismen an seine Grenzen stößt, sowie den Regeln und Kriterien, mit denen wir nichtmenschliche Erfahrungen beurteilen. Durch die Erforschung des Soziallebens, der ästhetischen Vorlieben und subjektiven Erfahrungen von Wassertieren will seine Forschungsgruppe eine Verstehensbrücke zwischen menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Erfahrungswelten schlagen. Auch wenn der Schwerpunkt klar auf der wissenschaftlichen Forschung liegt, engagieren sich Jordan und sein Team auch häufig an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft und kooperieren mit Künstler*innen, Architekt*innen und Philosoph*innen.

Schliessen

Filipa Ramos, PhD, ist Dozentin im Master-Studiengang des Institut Kunst Gender Natur HGK Basel FHNW und leitet die Art & Nature, eine Serie von Seminaren. Sie ist Autorin und Kuratorin. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich darauf, wie Kunst und Kultur Umwelt- und ökologische Themen behandeln und insbesondere auf die Art und Weise, wie zeitgenössische Kunst die Interspezies-Beziehungen zwischen Menschen und anderen Tieren fördert. Filipa Ramos ist Kuratorin von Art Basel Film und Gründungskuratorin von Vdrome, ein Programm das Filme von Künstler:innen und Filmschaffenden zeigt. Sie co-kuratierte mit Lucia Pietroiusti Persons Persones, die 8. Biennale Gherdëina (2022) und Bodies of Water, die 13. Shanghai Biennale (2021). Sie war Mitherausgeberin des Manifesta Journal und hat für die Documenta 13 (2012) und 14 (2017) gearbeitet. Sie verfasste Lost and Found (Silvana Editoriale, 2009) und gab Animals (Whitechapel Gallery/MIT Press, 2016) heraus. Filipa Ramos ist Kuratorin von Bestiari, dem katalanischen Beitrag an der Venedig Biennale 2024, und co-kuratiert auch mit Lucia Pietroiusti, Songs for the Changing Seasons für die erste Klimabiennale in Wien 2024.

Schliessen

David ist ein Postdoc am Leibniz-Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei in Berlin und promovierte in Umweltingenieurwesen an der Universität Trento. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf das Zusammenspiel zwischen hydro-morphologischen und ökologischen Prozessen in Flüssen mit dem Ziel, neuartige Methoden zur Unterstützung der praktischen Flussbewirtschaftung und -restaurierung zu entwickeln. Um die Effektivität und Nutzung der entwickelten Ansätze zu erhöhen wird seine Arbeit in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Umweltbehörden und anderen Interessengruppen durchgeführt. Im Jahr 2019 gründete David das River Collective mit, eine Umweltschutzorganisation mit Sitz in Österreich, die durch die Förderung transdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit zwischen Studierenden, Wissenschaftlern, Künstlern und Aktivisten dazu beiträgt, die Erhaltung und den Schutz von Flusssystemen zu unterstützen. Innerhalb des River Collective hat David an verschiedenen Initiativen mitgearbeitet, wie dem "Students for Rivers Camp", einer jährlichen Sommeruniversität für Studenten, den "Actions for Rivers", einem Inkubator für Umweltprojekte, und "Multispecies Resistance", einem interdisziplinären Projekt zur Kartierung und Veranschaulichung der Biodiversität des europäischen Kontinents.

Schliessen

Louise Firth ist Meeresökologin und Dozentin für ökologische Nachhaltigkeit am University College Cork in Irland. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf dem Verständnis für die Ökologie bebauter mariner Lebensräume; ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dabei der Entwicklung neuartiger Methoden, um in der von Menschen dominierten Umwelt Platz für die Natur zu schaffen. Sie ist Autorin von 85 peer-reviewed Artikeln (48 zu künstlichen Strukturen im Meer), Ko-Autorin einer Conservation Evidence Synopsis zur Erhöhung von Biodiversität an künstlichen Strukturen im Meer, Verfasserin von acht Gutachten (darunter eines für die IUCN – International Union for Conservation of Nature – zu künstlichen Strukturen im Meer) und Mitwirkende am World Ocean Assessment II der Vereinten Nationen (zum Thema Städte und steigende Meeresspiegel).

 

Schliessen

Aouefa Amoussouvi (sie/ihr) ist eine französisch-beninische multidisziplinäre Forscherin, Kuratorin und Vermittlerin aus Berlin. Sie promovierte in Theoretischer Molekularer Biophysik an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (2019). In ihrer Arbeit erforscht sie Technologien und Rituale, sowie intersektionale und dekoloniale feministische Narrative in der Wissenschaft. Sie befasst sich mit den Machtstrukturen innerhalb der westlichen akademischen Sphäre und zielt darauf ab, alternative Formen der kollektiven Wissensproduktion zu schaffen, u.a. zu den Themen digitaler Kolonialismus, Ökologie, Menstruation, Lebensmittelproduktion oder die Körper-Geist-Beziehung. Außerdem erforscht sie Technologien zur Heilung und Erhaltung transgenerationaler Erinnerung und hat eine Ausbildung in prozessorientierter Psychologie. Derzeit ist sie Ko-Kuratorin des Forschungs-, Ausstellungs-, 3-tägigen Diskursprogramms und Publikationsprojekts "The Roots of Our Hands Deep as Revolt. Entangled Colonialities of the Green" (2023-2024). Das Projekt wurde von Nyabinghi Lab in Zusammenarbeit mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Chimurenga und Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien initiiert.

Schliessen

aqui ist Mitglied der Thangmi, einer Volksgruppe der indigenen Kirati im Himalaya. Sie nutzt den sozialen Austausch und entwickelt „safe spaces“, um Kunst als Medium der Heilung in der Gemeinschaft zu positionieren. aquis interdisziplinäre Praxis umfasst zeremonielle Interventionen, Performances, Zeichnungen, Zine-Produktionen, Wildplakatierung und öffentliche Interventionen unter Beteiligung des Publikums. Ihre Arbeiten sind Großteiles selbst finanziert und kollaborativ realisiert. Die von aqui gegründete sister library (@sister.library) ist ein sich ständig weiterentwickelndes Kunstwerk, das sich intensiv mit der Bild- und Lesekultur unserer Zeit beschäftigt. Es ist zudem die erste feministische Wanderbibliothek Südasiens, die im Besitz und unter Leitung der Community ist. Zusammen mit anderen leitet aqui darüber hinaus Bombay Underground, ein Künstler*innenkollektiv, das Südasiens erstes Zine-Festival, Bombay Zine Fest, veranstaltet hat und eine zentrale Rolle in der Underground-Verlagsszene spielt, sowie den Dharavi Art Room, wo Kinder und Frauen aus Dharavi ihre Kreativität erkunden können.

Schliessen

James Matharu ist Postdoktorand im Projekt "Learning Natures", das von der Anthropologin Dr. Francesca Mezzenzana am Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society der LMU (München) geleitet wird. Ziel des Projekts ist es, durch die Zusammenarbeit von Sozial- und Kulturanthropologen, Experimentalpsychologen und Philosophen einen vergleichenden Einblick in die Erfahrungen von Kindern mit der "natürlichen Welt" in verschiedenen Kulturen zu gewinnen. Dies beinhaltet Feldforschung im ecuadorianischen und chilenischen Amazonasgebiet, in den USA, Deutschland und Italien. Nach seinem Studium in Philosophie und Anthropologie an der London School of Economics absolvierte James seinen BPhil und DPhil in Philosophie an der Oxford University. Dabei konzentrierte er sich auf die Ausarbeitung einer non-dualen Metaphysik des Geistes, der Sprache und des Lernens. Diese Metaphysik bildet die Grundlage für seine Projektarbeit, in der er eine non-duale psychologische Anthropologie entwickelt, in deren Mittelpunkt die Frage der Beziehung von Kindern zu ihrer Umwelt steht.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Floating University Berlin
Rheinsberger Preussenquelle

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram