Schering Stiftung

Event 

Book Launch

Yunchul Kim: Carved Air

Book Launch

Yunchul Kim: Carved Air

Date:

November 02, 2012, 6–8 p.m.

Venue:

Einstein-Saal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
Jägerstr. 22/23
10117 Berlin

The book „Yunchul Kim: Carved Air“ is published with argobooks and can be purchased for 16,00 € (ISBN: 978-3942700-29-0). It can be ordered at info@argobooks.de.


As part of the symposium “Fluid Cosmologies I” at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the Schering Stiftung will present the publication “Yunchul Kim: Carved Air”. The book with contributions by Yunchul Kim, art historian Lucía Ayala and astrophysicist Jaime E. Forero-Romero is published on the occasion of the exhibition “CARVED AIR” by Yunchul Kim, which is on display at the Schering Stiftung’s project space until December 1, 2012.

In his exhibition “CARVED AIR”, the Berlin-based Korean artist Yunchul Kim presents a series of electrochemical drawings as well as his latest fluid-kinetic sculptures, coupled to a cosmic ray detector. Conceived specifically for the project space of the Schering Stiftung, the works were created in cooperation with “Fluid Skies”, a working group consisting of Kim, the art historian Lucía Ayala and the astrophysicist Jaime E. Forero-Romero (www.fluid-skies.net).

The publication, edited by the curator of the exhibition, Lucía Ayala, is the 3rd volume of the Schering Stiftung’s publication series and documents the results of Fluid Skies’ collaboration since 2011. In her essay “Celestial Matter”, Lucía Ayala explains the basis of the concept of the fluid skies from the perspective of art and science history. In his contribution “Fluid Instabilities”, Jaime E. Forero-Romero discusses scientific terms from astrophysics such as dark matter and describes how looking at astrophysical phenomena through the eyes of an artist has altered his perception of science. In “Imaginary Matter”, Yunchul Kim delivers insights into his artistic exploration of astrophysical phenomena and the connection to art history and philosophy.

Read more

You might also be interested in

November 02, 2012

Fluid Cosmologies I

Symposium

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Veranstaltung 

Buchpräsentation

Yunchul Kim: Carved Air

Buchpräsentation

Yunchul Kim: Carved Air

Termin:

02.11.2012, 18–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Einstein-Saal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
Jägerstr. 22/23
10117 Berlin

Das Buch „Yunchul Kim: Carved Air“ erscheint im Berliner Verlag argobooks und kostet 16 € (ISBN: 978-3942700-29-0). Eine Bestellung des Buches ist möglich unter order@argobooks.de.

Die Publikation wurde gefördert vom Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam.


Im Rahmen des Symposiums „Fluid Cosmologies I“ im Einstein-Saal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften stellt die Schering Stiftung den neuesten Band ihrer Schriftenreihe vor. Die Publikation „Yunchul Kim: Carved Air“ mit Beiträgen von Yunchul Kim, Kunsthistorikerin Lucía Ayala und Astrophysiker Jaime E. Forero-Romero erscheint anlässlich der Ausstellung „CARVED AIR“ von Yunchul Kim, die noch bis zum 1. Dezember 2012 im Projektraum der Schering Stiftung zu sehen ist.

In „CARVED AIR“ präsentiert der in Berlin lebende koreanische Künstler Yunchul Kim elektrochemische Zeichnungen und neue strömungskinetische Skulpturen, die mit einem Detektor für kosmische Strahlung verbunden sind. Die eigens für den Projektraum der Schering Stiftung produzierten Werke entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit „Fluid Skies“, einer Arbeitsgruppe, zu der neben dem Künstler auch die Kunsthistorikerin Lucía Ayala und der Astrophysiker Jaime E. Forero-Romero gehören (www.fluid-skies.net).

Die von der Kuratorin der Ausstellung, Lucía Ayala, herausgegebene Publikation ist der dritte Band in der Schriftenreihe der Schering Stiftung und dokumentiert die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit von Fluid Skies seit 2011. In ihrem Essay „Himmelsmaterie“ erarbeitet Lucía Ayala die kunst- und wissenschaftshistorische Basis des Konzepts der Flüssigen Himmel, das eine lange Tradition in der Geschichte der Astrophysik hat. Jaime E. Forero-Romero erörtert in seinem Beitrag „Flüssige Instabilitäten“ wissenschaftliche Begriffe wie z. B. Dunkle Materie aus der Perspektive seiner Disziplin und schildert der Wissenszuwachs durch die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit seinem Fachgebiet. Yunchul Kim beschreibt in „Imaginäre Materie“ seine künstlerischen Ansätze in der Auseinandersetzung mit astrophysikalischen Phänomenen, Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie.

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

02.11.2012

Fluid Cosmologies I

Symposium

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram