Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012
Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim, TRIAXIAL PILLARS, 2012

Yunchul Kim, TRIAXIAL PILLARS, 2012
Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim, EFFULGE (Detail), 2012, Foto:

Yunchul Kim, EFFULGE (Detail), 2012, Foto:
Photo: Alexander Schippel

Yunchul Kim, Sample Box, 2012

Yunchul Kim, Sample Box, 2012
Photo: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim

CARVED AIR

Yunchul Kim

CARVED AIR

Duration:

September 07 – December 01, 2012

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 06. September 2012, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

More information on “Fluid Skies” and the events related to the exhibition is available at http://www.fluid-skies.net/fluid-cosmologies/fc-i-berlin/.

For more information on the exhibition, please contact:
Friederike Petersen
Manager Public Relations
Phone: +49-30-20 62 29-67
Mobile: +49-170-579 41 35
petersen@scheringstiftung.de


In his exhibition CARVED AIR, the Berlin-based Korean artist Yunchul Kim presents a series of electrochemical drawings as well as his latest fluid-kinetic sculptures, coupled to a cosmic ray detector. Conceived specifically for the Project Space of the Schering Stiftung, the works were created in cooperation with “Fluid Skies,” a working group consisting of Kim, the art historian Lucía Ayala and the astrophysicist Jaime Forero (www.fluid-skies.net). Curated by Lucía Ayala, the exhibition is the first outcome of this collaboration.

CARVED AIR suggests, even through its title, one of the main impulses of Kim’s work: the enormous epistemological complexity behind contemporary scientific processes. The Swiss theoretical physicist Walther Ritz wrote in 1909, before the full deployment of quantum mechanics, that the spectral measurements of atoms provide us with many documents, “unfortunately written in hieroglyphics that we do not know how to decipher.”

The original meaning of the word hieroglyph is “sacred carving,” from the Greek hierós (sacred) and glýphō (carved [in stone]). The French philosopher Gaston Bachelard later echoed Ritz’s words and used the term hieroglyphics to characterize contemporary science. From the 20th century onward, the objects analyzed by scientists have lost their direct relation to immediate experience. According to Bachelard, they are no longer objects in a traditional sense, but have entered a cryptic realm, an “organization of metaphors” that brings us “messages from an unknown world.”

In response to these ideas, and in connection with the concept of the fluid skies, which has a long history in astronomy, Yunchul Kim proposes to “carve the air,” to aesthetically manipulate the fluid skies to reflect some core aspects of current astrophysics. His works deal with the artistic potential of fluid dynamics using materials such as custom-made ferrofluids moved by electromagnetic forces. Kim thus investigates not only the cosmic dimensions of nanoparticles, but also the morphology of physical instabilities on visible and dark matter leading to the formation of galaxies. With CARVED AIR, Yunchul Kim, Lucía Ayala and Jaime Forero explore the fluid skies from a scientific, artistic, historical, philosophical and poetic perspective.

Yunchul Kim lives and works in Berlin. His works have received many awards, including a Honorary Mention at the Transmediale Festival in Berlin (2004), a Honorary Mention in the Interactive Art category at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz (2006), the prize of the New Artist Trend, Seoul (2008), an artist-in-residency at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2010-2011), and a residency at the Edith Ruß House for Media Art, Oldenburg (2011-2012).

The exhibition CARVED AIR is supported by UCIRA, the Arts Council Korea, the Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics in Potsdam, the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, and the Korea Culture Center in Berlin.

Read more

Fluid Cosmologies I 

Book Launch 

Symposium — November 02, 2012

On the occasion of the exhibition "CARVED AIR" by Yunchul Kim, experts from different scientific disciplines will reflect on the central aspects of the exhibition.

Learn more
Event — November 02, 2012

The book with contributions by Yunchul Kim, art historian Lucía Ayala and astrophysicist Jaime E. Forero-Romero is published on the occasion of the exhibition "CARVED AIR" by Yunchul Kim.

Learn more

Gallery

Yunchul Kim

Exhibit Opening "Yunchul Kim: Carved Air" on September 6, 2012

Visit the media library

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012

Yunchul Kim, elektrochemische Zeichnung, 2012
Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim, TRIAXIAL PILLARS, 2012

Yunchul Kim, TRIAXIAL PILLARS, 2012
Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim, EFFULGE (Detail), 2012, Foto:

Yunchul Kim, EFFULGE (Detail), 2012, Foto:
Foto: Alexander Schippel

Yunchul Kim, Sample Box, 2012

Yunchul Kim, Sample Box, 2012
Foto: Katja Hommel © Schering Stiftung

Yunchul Kim

CARVED AIR

Yunchul Kim

CARVED AIR

Laufzeit:

07.09. – 01.12.2012

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 06. September 2012, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Montag bis Samstag: 11 bis 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Weitere Informationen zu „Fluid Skies“ und zum Begleitprogramm finden Sie unter http://www.fluid-skies.net/fluid-cosmologies/fc-i-berlin

Weitere Informationen zur Ausstellung erhalten Sie bei:
Friederike Petersen
Referentin Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel. +49-30-20 62 29-67
Mob. +49-170-579 41 35
petersen@scheringstiftung.de


In CARVED AIR präsentiert der in Berlin lebende koreanische Künstler Yunchul Kim elektrochemische Zeichnungen und neue strömungskinetische Skulpturen, die mit einem Detektor für kosmische Strahlung verbunden sind. Die eigens für den Projektraum der Schering Stiftung produzierten Werke entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit „Fluid Skies“, einer Arbeitsgruppe, zu der neben dem Künstler auch die Kunsthistorikerin Lucía Ayala und der Astrophysiker Jaime Forero gehören (www.fluid-skies.net). Die von Lucía Ayala kuratierte Ausstellung ist das erste Resultat dieser Zusammenarbeit.

Bereits der Titel CARVED AIR verweist auf einen Hauptimpuls von Kims künstlerischem Schaffen: die enorme Komplexität heutiger wissenschaftlicher Prozesse. Im Jahr 1909, vor der Entwicklung der Quantenmechanik, schrieb der Schweizer Physiker Walther Ritz, dass die Spektralmessung von Atomen viele Dokumente liefert, „wenn auch leider in einer Hieroglyphenschrift, die wir nicht entziffern können.“

Ursprünglich bedeutet das Wort Hieroglyphe „heiliges Schriftzeichen“ oder „heilige Eingrabung“, zusammengesetzt aus hierós „heilig“ und glýphō „(in Stein) gravieren/ritzen“. Der französische Philosoph Gaston Bachelard griff den Hieroglyphen-Begriff von Ritz später zur Charakterisierung der zeitgenössischen Wissenschaft auf: Seit dem 20. Jahrhundert haben die wissenschaftlich erforschten Gegenstände den Bezug zur unmittelbaren Erfahrungswelt verloren. Sie sind nicht länger Objekte im herkömmlichen Sinn, sondern befinden sich in einem kryptischen Bereich, einer „Organisation von Metaphern“, die uns „Nachrichten aus einer unbekannten Welt“ überbringt.

Ausgehend von diesen Ideen und in Verbindung mit dem Konzept der flüssigen Himmel, das in der Astronomiegeschichte eine lange Tradition hat, schlägt Yunchul Kim in CARVED AIR vor, „die Luft zu schnitzen“, d.h. den flüssigen Himmel ästhetisch zu manipulieren, um zentrale Aspekte der heutigen Astrophysik zu reflektieren. Seine Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem künstlerischen Potenzial der Fluiddynamik unter Verwendung von Materialien wie speziell angefertigten Ferrofluiden, die auf elektromagnetische Kräfte reagieren. So untersucht Kim neben der kosmischen Dimension von Nanopartikeln auch die Morphologie physikalischer Instabilitäten auf sichtbare und dunkle Materie, die zur Entstehung von Galaxien führt. Mit CARVED AIR nähern sich Yunchul Kim, Lucía Ayala und Jaime Forero den fluid skies aus wissenschaftlicher, künstlerischer, historischer, philosophischer und poetischer Perspektive.

Yunchul Kim lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Für seine Arbeiten erhielt er u. a. eine Honorary Mention bei der Transmediale in Berlin (2004), eine Honorary Mention in der Kategorie Interaktive Kunst bei der Ars Electronica in Linz (2006), den Preis der New Artist Trend, Seoul (2008), Artist-in-Residence-Aufenthalt im Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2010-2011) und einen Aufenthalt im Edith-Ruß-Haus für Medienkunst, Oldenburg (2011-2012).

Die Ausstellung CARVED AIR wird unterstützt von UCIRA, dem Arts Council Korea, dem Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam, der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und dem Koreanischen Kulturzentum, Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Fluid Cosmologies I 

Buchpräsentation 

Symposium — 02.11.2012

Das im Rahmen der Ausstellung "CARVED AIR" von Yunchul Kim veranstaltete Symposium versammelt Vertreter verschiedener Wissenschaftsdisziplinen, die gemeinsam die Kernthemen der Ausstellung diskutieren.

Mehr erfahren
Veranstaltung — 02.11.2012

Die von der Kuratorin der Ausstellung, Lucía Ayala, herausgegebene Publikation dokumentiert die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit von Fluid Skies seit 2011.

Mehr erfahren

Galerie

Yunchul Kim

Ausstellungseröffnung "Yunchul Kim: Carved Air" am 6. September 2012

Mediathek besuchen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram