Schering Stiftung

Festival 

Photo: ©Anton Stüber

Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18

Future Continuous Present(s) –
“Video Art” through Time

Photo: ©Anton Stüber

Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18

Future Continuous Present(s) –
“Video Art” through Time

Date:

December 12 – December 16, 2018

Venue:

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart Berlin
Invalidenstr. 51–52 | 10557 Berlin

Festival Program: Videoart at Midnight-Festival

Symposium: Future-continuous-present(s)-symposium

Free admission to all festival events. Please come on time; space is limited.
For symposium, please register at org@videoart-at-midnight.de


Videoart at Midnight (VAM) is an international forum dedicated to the promotion of contemporary art – especially film, media art, and video art – in Berlin. On December 12–16, VAM celebrates its tenth anniversary with a video art festival consisting of an international symposium at the Hamburger Bahnhof, four exhibitions at partner institutions in Berlin, and an art film and video program at the Kino Babylon in Berlin-Mitte.

Once a month on a Friday, at midnight, the two initiators, Olaf Stüber and Ivo Wessel, invite artists to show their work on the big screen at the Babylon movie theater. Every evening is dedicated to a specific artist. The artists are always present. There are frequent world premieres, occasionally accompanied by live acts such as performances, concerts or artist talks. VAM aims to offer a platform for a medium that is becoming increasingly important in the context of contemporary art production as well as to provide insights into Berlin’s international art scene. Invited guests include both well-known artists and newcomers.

On December 12–14, VAM, together with the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart and the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), examines the history, present, and future of video art during the international symposium entitled “Future Continuous Present(s) – ‘Video Art’ through Time.” The symposium will discuss questions such as the gap between the steadily evolving digital technologies and related aesthetic consequences or how artists deal with linear and non-linear narratives. Guests include Orit Halpern, Claus Pias, Erika Balsom, Inke Arns, Siegfried Zielinski, and Frédéric Neyrat.

The keynote lecture by the media and film studies scholar Leo Goldsmith is supported by the Schering Stiftung. The lecture addresses contemporary video art’s habitation of the underground – as a space of enclosure and exclusivity, and of capitalist extraction – redefining it as one of radical inclusivity and commonality, and as a site through which to explore the material histories and futures of media.

Read more

Keynote-Speaker 

Leo Goldsmith is a writer, curator, and teacher based in Amsterdam and Brooklyn. His writing has appeared in Artforum, art-agenda, Cinema Scope, and The Brooklyn Rail, where he was film editor from 2011 to 2018. He is currently writing a book about the filmmaker Peter Watkins with Rachael Rakes. Goldsmith has lectured on media and film at New York University, Brooklyn College, Harvard University, and The New School.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein

You might also be interested in

September 20 – September 23, 2018

BAM!

Berlin Festival for Contemporary Music Theater

November 17, 2018, Berlin

SERGE-Kaleidoskop

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop & Luigi De Angelis / Fanny & Alexander

Cooperation with MitOst e.V.

Cultural Projects in Middle and East Europe

June 29 – July 01, 2018

Brecht in the Car Workshop

A Play Performance by Olaf Nicolai

October 10, 2017

Projekt Bauhaus

Event series on 100 years of Bauhaus

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Festival 

Foto: ©Anton Stüber

Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18

Future Continuous Present(s) –
“Video Art” through Time

Foto: ©Anton Stüber

Videoart at Midnight Festival ‘18

Future Continuous Present(s) –
“Video Art” through Time

Termin:

12.12. – 16.12.2018

Veranstaltungsort:

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart Berlin
Invalidenstr. 51–52 | 10557 Berlin

Festivalprogramm: Videoart at Midnight-Festival

Symposium: Future-continuous-present(s)-symposium

Freier Eintritt zu allen Festivalveranstaltungen. Bitte kommen Sie pünktlich, der Platz ist begrenzt.
Für das Symposium melden Sie sich bitte an unter org@videoart-at-midnight.de


Videoart at Midnight (VAM) ist ein internationales Forum, das sich der Förderung von zeitgenössischer Kunst, insbesondere von Film, Medien- und Videokunst in Berlin widmet. Vom 12. bis 16. Dezember feiert VAM sein zehnjähriges Bestehen mit einem Festival der Videokunst, bestehend aus einem international besetzten Symposium im Hamburger Bahnhof, vier Ausstellungen bei befreundeten Institutionen in Berlin sowie einem Künstlerfilm- und Video-Programm im Kino Babylon in Berlin-Mitte.

Einmal im Monat, immer an einem Freitag um Mitternacht, laden die beiden Initiatoren – Olaf Stüber und Ivo Wessel – KünstlerInnen ein, ihre Arbeiten auf der großen Leinwand im Kino Babylon zu zeigen. Jeder Abend ist einem Künstler bzw. einer Künstlerin gewidmet. Die KünstlerInnen sind stets anwesend. Oft werden Uraufführungen gezeigt, manchmal auch begleitet durch live acts, wie Performances, Konzerte oder Künstlergespräche. Ziel von VAM ist es, eine Plattform für ein Medium zu bieten, das im Rahmen der zeitgenössischen Kunstproduktion zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnt und gleichzeitig einen Einblick in die internationale Kunstszene Berlins zu geben. Dabei sind sowohl renommierte KünstlerInnen als auch immer wieder Neuentdeckungen eingeladen.

In dem internationalen Symposium unter dem Titel „Future Continuous Present(s) – ‚Video Artʽ through Time“ untersucht VAM vom 12.–14. Dezember gemeinsam mit dem Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart und dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) die Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Videokunst. Diskutiert werden Fragen nach der Diskrepanz zwischen sich stetig weiterentwickelnden digitalen Techniken und damit verbundenen ästhetischen Auswirkungen oder nach dem künstlerischen Umgang mit linearen und nicht-linearen Erzählungen (u.a. mit Orit Halpern, Claus Pias, Erika Balsom, Inke Arns, Siegfried Zielinski, Frédéric Neyrat).

Die Keynote-Lecture des Medien- und Filmwissenschaftlers Leo Goldsmith wird gefördert durch die Schering Stiftung. Der Vortrag befasst sich mit der Verortung zeitgenössischer Videokunst im Untergrund: einem abgeschlossenen, exklusiven Raum und Ort kapitalistischer Ausbeutung, der zu einem der radikalen Inklusivität und Gemeinschaft umgedeutet wird; und einem Ort, an dem sich die materiellen Geschichten und Zukünfte von Medien erforschen lassen.

Weiterlesen

Keynote-Speaker 

Der Autor, Kurator und Dozent Leo Goldsmith lebt in Amsterdam und Brooklyn. Seine Texte erscheinen in Artforum, art-agenda, Cinema Scope sowie The Brooklyn Rail, dessen Filmredakteur er von 2011 bis 2018 war. Momentan arbeitet er mit Rachael Rakes an einem Buch über den Filmemacher Peter Watkins. Goldsmith hat Film und Medien an der New York University, am Brooklyn College, an der Harvard University und The New School unterrichtet.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein realisiert.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

20.09. – 23.09.2018

BAM!

Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

17.11.2018, Berlin

SERGE

Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop & Luigi De Angelis / Fanny & Alexander

Kooperation mit MitOst e.V.

Kulturprojekte in Mittel- und Osteuropa

29.06. – 01.07.2018

Brecht in der Autowerkstatt

Ein performatives Theaterstück von Olaf Nicolai

10.10.2017

Projekt Bauhaus

Veranstaltungsreihe 100 Jahre Bauhaus

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube