Schering Stiftung

Artist talk 

Photo: Jenna Sutela, Milky Ways, 2022, video stills. A project in collaboration with Primer.

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela in conversation with Aslak Aamot Helm

Photo: Jenna Sutela, Milky Ways, 2022, video stills. A project in collaboration with Primer.

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela in conversation with Aslak Aamot Helm

Date:

November 17, 2022

Find the Podcast further down on this site as well as in our media library and here:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

 


Jenna Sutela and Aslak Aamot Helm share an interest in the more-than-conceptual questions produced by scientific research. Both of their work is interdisciplinary in nature. They deal with holisms, such as holobionts, or how the human body and psyche are interconnected with other lifeforms.

In the podcast, they talk about their exchange as part of Milky Ways, a collaborative video between Sutela and Primer, a platform for artistic and organizational development that Helm runs together with a group of artists and researchers in Denmark.

Moderation: Christina Landbrecht

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela in conversation with Aslak Aamot Helm

Visit the media library

The Speakers 

Jenna Sutela (b. 1983, Turku, Finland) works with living organisms such as bacteria and slime mold as well as with sound and language. In her audiovisual works, sculptures, and performances, the artist creates connections between biological entities and technologies. Her particular interest is in the productive interaction between human and non-human organisms. In her work “nimiia cétii,” for example, she created a novel written language whose machine-generated characters are based on capturing and copying the movements of Bacillus subtilis nattō. In 2019/20, Sutela was a visiting artist at the MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology. Sutela’s works have been shown at Castello di Rivoli (2022), Liverpool Biennial (2021), Kunsthall Trondheim (2020), ZKM Karlsruhe (2020), Serpentine Galleries (2019), Kiasma, Helsinki (2017), and others.

Close

Aslak Aamot Helm works on building alliances, experiments and organizations across art, science, technology and industry. He is the co-founder of Diakron, a studio for transdisciplinary research and practice, and Primer, a platform for artistic and organizational development housed in the global water- and biotechnology company Aquaporin.

As a part of the editorial team working on the Future Art Ecosystems report series with Serpentine Galleries, he works on cross-sectorial research on emerging art-institutional formations. Aslak is currently a postdoctoral researcher with Medical Museion, Diakron and Serpentine Galleries.

In the project titled “Re-energizing art institutions at the intersection of art, science and technology” he is working to study and further para-organizational missions and strategies across a diverse selection of transdisciplinary art organizations and practices.

Close

You might also be interested in

November 16, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 7: Max - Artists in Residence: Interview with Anne Mundo

December 07, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 8: Max – Artists in Residence: Interview with Christoph Medicus

November 25, 2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 1: Making of "PushMi PullYu"

December 10, 2020

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Epsiode 2: Hyphen-Labs in conversation with John-Dylan Haynes on "PushMi PullYu"

February 12, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 3: The Studio and the Classroom: Max – Artists in Residence at Schools

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch 

Foto: Jenna Sutela, Milky Ways, 2022, Videostandbild. Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Primer

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela im Gespräch mit Aslak Aamot Helm

Foto: Jenna Sutela, Milky Ways, 2022, Videostandbild. Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Primer

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela im Gespräch mit Aslak Aamot Helm

Termin:

17.11.2022

Sie finden den Podcast weiter unten auf dieser Seite und in unserer Mediathek sowie hier:

Spotify

Apple Podcasts

Deezer

Google Podcasts

 

 


Jenna Sutela und Aslak Aamot Helm teilen ein Interesse an all jenen Fragen, die die Naturwissenschaften im Rahmen ihrer Forschung aufwerfen, ohne bislang mit ihren eigenen Methoden Antworten darauf gefunden zu haben. Beide arbeiten interdisziplinär und beschäftigen sich vorrangig mit der Interaktion und dem Zusammenwirken verschiedener Organismen, das heißt mit Konzepten wie beispielsweise jenem des „Holobiont“. Wie Mikroben nicht zuletzt die Beziehung zwischen menschlichem Körper und Psyche beeinflussen, rückt die Videoarbeit Milky Ways in den Fokus.

Im Podcast sprechen sie über ihren Austausch im Rahmen der Produktion dieses von Sutela in Zusammenarbeit mit der Plattform Primer entwickelten Werks. Primer wurde von Helm in Dänemark mitgegründet und dient der Förderung des Dialogs zwischen Künstler*innen, Natur- und Geisteswissenschaftler*innen und Unternehmen aus dem Bereich der Biotechnologie.

Moderation: Christina Landbrecht

Audio

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 9: The Planetary Body. Jenna Sutela im Gespräch mit Aslak Aamot Helm

Mediathek besuchen

Die Sprecher*innen 

Jenna Sutela (*1983, Turku, Finnland) arbeitet mit lebenden Organismen wie Bakterien und Schleimpilzen sowie mit Klang und Sprache. In ihren audiovisuellen Werken, Skulpturen und Performances knüpft die Künstlerin Verbindungen zwischen biologischen Entitäten und Technologien. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem produktiven Zusammenwirken von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Organismen. Im Werk „nimiia cétii“ schuf sie etwa eine neue geschriebene Sprache, deren technisch erzeugte Schriftzeichen auf dem Erfassen und Nachzeichnen der Bewegungen des Bacillus subtilis nattō basierten. Von 2019 bis 2020 war Sutela Gastkünstlerin am MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology. Sutelas Arbeiten wurden u.a. im Castello di Rivoli (2022), auf der Liverpool Biennale (2021), in der Kunsthalle Trondheim (2020), im ZKM, Karlsruhe (2020), in den Serpentine Galleries (2019) oder im Kiasma, Helsinki (2017) präsentiert.  


 

Schliessen

Aslak Aamot Helm arbeitet am Aufbau von Allianzen, Experimenten und Organisationen zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft, Technologie und Industrie. Er ist Mitbegründer von Diakron, einem Studio für transdisziplinäre Forschung und Praxis, und Primer, einer Plattform für künstlerische und organisatorische Entwicklung, die im globalen Wasser- und Biotechnologieunternehmen Aquaporin angesiedelt ist.

Als Teil des Redaktionsteams, das mit den Serpentine Galleries an der Berichtsreihe Future Art Ecosystems arbeitet, beschäftigt er sich mit der sektorübergreifenden Erforschung neu entstehender künstlerisch-institutioneller Formationen. Aslak ist derzeit Postdoc-Forscher am Medical Museion Kopenhagen, Diakron und bei Serpentine Galleries.

In dem Projekt mit dem Titel "Re-energizing art institutions at the intersection of art, science and technology" arbeitet er an der Untersuchung und Förderung von para-organisatorischen Aufgaben und Strategien in einer vielfältigen Auswahl von transdisziplinären Kunstorganisationen und -praktiken.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 3: Kunst und Klassenzimmer: Max – Artists in Residence an Schulen

25.06.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 4: TEMPERATE. Behind the scenes

10.09.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 5: Zheng Bo und Tom Crowther

19.10.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 6: Aviv Regev und Judith Feucht

16.11.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 7: Max - Artists in Residence: Interview mit Anne Mundo

07.12.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 8: Max – Artists in Residence: Interview mit Christoph Medicus

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram