Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Elly Tanaka
Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka Ernst Schering Preis 2017
Photo: Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pathologie (IMP), Wien

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Martin Grötschel, Prof. Maria Leptin, Prof. Elly Tanaka, Prof. Stephan Kaufmann - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Martin Grötschel, Prof. Maria Leptin, Prof. Elly Tanaka, Prof. Stephan Kaufmann - Ernst Schering Preis 2017
Photo: Julia Zimmermann

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017


Prof. Dr. Elly Tanaka is a senior scientist at the Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) in Vienna, Austria, and the leading specialist in the field of regeneration biology. With the aid of innovative molecular biological and microscopic techniques, she was able to identify the stem cells that induce the regeneration of limbs and spinal cord in salamanders. Combining regeneration and stem cell research, her work delivers long-sought answers regarding the molecular and cellular fundamentals of regeneration.

Prof. Dr. Elly Tanaka is awarded the Ernst Schering Prize 2017 for her outstanding research in the field of regeneration biology.

Professor Tanaka was nominated for the Ernst Schering Prize 2017 by Dr. Jan-Michael Peters, Managing Director of Science at the IMP. “I am utterly delighted that Elly Tanaka’s research achievements are honored with the prestigious Ernst Schering Prize, for like few others, she perfectly fits the criteria for the prize.Her insights, which are the result of her creative and persistent research, are truly pioneering and will define the field of regeneration biology also for the future scientists she is training, among other places, at the IMP,” says Peters.

Prof. Dr. Maria Leptin, mentor of Professor Tanaka and director of the EMBO in Heidelberg, who will give the presentation speech at the award ceremony, says about Professor Tanaka: “Elly Tanaka is a uniquely creative and independent-minded scientist. Thanks to her, we have groundbreaking insights into the regeneration capacity of organs and tissues, which were facilitated through her original application of cutting-edge analytical methods using a classic test animal, the axolotl.”

Read more

Side events 

High School Lecture

September 25, 2017
How do animals regenerate their body parts?

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Scientific Lecture

September 25, 2017, 4–5 p.m.
Deciphering molecules and cells for limb and spinal cord regeneration

Berlin-Brandenburgisches Zentrum für Regenerative Therapien.
Charité Campus Virchow-Klinikum
Föhrer Str. 15 | 13353 Berlin

BCRT Webpage

Press Review 

The fact that Elly Tanaka will continue to explore the phenomenon can be seen in her enthusiasm for this research: "The process of regeneration is simply beautiful."

26.09.2017, Florian Schumann, Tagesspiegel

If an axolotl loses a part of his body, it grows again. How and why does the regeneration works so well in this animals? Researchers want to find it out for years.

06.10.2017, Laura Borchardt, NDR Info – Logo – Das Wissenschaftsmagazin

Media library

Video — September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka - science career and limb regeneration

September 2017

Go to video
Gallery — September 25, 2017

Award Ceremony

Ernst Schering Prize 2017 and Friedmund Neumann Prize 2017

Go to images

Award Ceremony 2017 

Award ceremony — September 25, 2017

On September 25th, 2017 at 6:30 p.m. the renowned science awards will be given to Elly Tanaka and Ivana Nikić-Spiegel.

Learn more

Downloads 

Award Ceremony

Invitation Card

Download File

Further information

with research abstract and CV

Download File

Scientific Lecture

Invitation card

Download File

Jury 

Constance Scharff explores the genes required for proper development of speech and language. The biologist graduated from Rockefeller University in New York in 1991 with a thesis on the neurobiology of singing in songbirds. At the Collège de France in Paris she worked on the development of gender differences in the brains of hens and roosters. Back in New York, she became assistant professor at Rockefeller University in 1994, studying the development of new nerve cells in the adult brain. In 2001, Scharff was appointed to the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, in 2005 to a professorship for behavioral biology at the Free University. Since 2008 she is Vice President of the German Zoological Society and since 2012 member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences.

Close

Carl-Henrik Heldin has, since 1992, been professor in Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University, Sweden. Between 1986 and 2017, he was the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin is the chair of the Boards of the Nobel Foundation, the Science for Life Laboratory, and the European Molecular Biology Organization. His research interest is related to the mechanisms of signal transduction by growth regulatory factors, as well as their normal function and role in disease. An important goal is to explore the possible clinical utility of signal transduction antagonists.

Close

Stefan Kaufmann is founding director and director of the Department of Immunology of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin and Professor for Microbiology and Immunology at the Charité University Hospital in Berlin. He received his Ph.D. in biology (“summa cum laude”) from Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and completed his habilitation in the field of immunology and microbiology at the Freie Universität Berlin in 1981. From 1987 until 1991, he was Professor for Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and from 1991 until 1998, he was Full Professor for Immunology at Ulm University.

Close

Hartmut Michel studied Biochemistry at the Universities of Tübingen and Munich. He completed his doctoral degree at the University of Würzburg in 1977 and habilitated in 1988 at the University of Munich. Since 1987 he is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysics at Frankfurt/Main, where he leads the Department for Molecular Membrane Biology. In 1988, Hartmut Michel was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, together with Johannes Deisenhöfer and Robert Huber, for their investigation of the molecular structure of the photosynthesis reaction center in the rhodopseudomonas viridis bacterium.

Close

Günter Stock is a german physiologist. He was Professor of Vegetative Physiology in Heidelberg from 1980 to 1983. From 1983 to 2005 he has worked at the Schering AG, from 1989 to 2005 as board member, with responsibility for research and development. From 2006 to 2015 he was the President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Since 2012 he has been serving as All European Academies (ALLEA) President since 2012. Since 2015 he is the chair of the Executive Board of the Einstein Foundation Berlin.

Close

Fiona Doetsch investigates stem cells in the adult mammalian brain. Elucidating the molecular and cellular pathways underlying their regulation may provide insight into brain repair.

Close

Bernard Meunier is currently Emeritus Director of Research at the Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination du CNRS, Toulouse, and Distinguished Professor at the Chemistry Department of Guangdong University of Technology, Guangzhou, P. R. China (since 2012). He has been Chair in Technological Innovation Liliane Bettencourt at the Collège de France, Paris (2014–2015), President of the French Academy of Sciences (2015–2016), and President of the CNRS (2004–2006). His main interests in the field of bioinorganic and medicinal chemistry is the design and development of hybrid molecules as antimalarial or anti-schistosomiasis drugs and of new copper-specific chelating agents as potential therapeutic agents for Alzheimer’s disease.

Close

You might also be interested in

July 07, 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

PreisträgerIn 

Prof. Elly Tanaka
Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka Ernst Schering Preis 2017
Foto: Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pathologie (IMP), Wien

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Martin Grötschel, Prof. Maria Leptin, Prof. Elly Tanaka, Prof. Stephan Kaufmann - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Martin Grötschel, Prof. Maria Leptin, Prof. Elly Tanaka, Prof. Stephan Kaufmann - Ernst Schering Preis 2017
Foto: Julia Zimmermann

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Prof. Elly Tanaka - Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017


Professor Elly Tanaka ist Wissenschaftlerin am Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pathologie (IMP) in Wien und die führende Spezialistin auf dem Gebiet der Regenerationsbiologie. Mithilfe innovativer molekularbiologischer und mikroskopischer Verfahren konnte sie die Stammzellen identifizieren, die beim Salamander die Regeneration von Gliedmaßen und Rückenmark bewirken. Ihre Arbeit vereint die Forschungsgebiete der Regenerations- und Stammzellbiologie und liefert lange gesuchte Antworten auf die Fragen nach den molekularen und zellulären Grundlagen der Regeneration.

Prof. Dr. Elly Tanaka wird für ihre herausragenden Forschungsarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Regenerationsbiologie mit dem Schering Preis 2017 ausgezeichnet.

Professor Tanaka wurde für den Ernst Schering Preis 2017 von Dr. Jan-Michael Peters, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor am IMP, vorgeschlagen. „Dass Elly Tanakas Forschungsleistungen mit dem angesehenen Ernst Schering Preis gewürdigt werden, freut mich außerordentlich, denn auf kaum jemanden treffen die Kriterien für die Auszeichnung so passgenau zu wie auf sie. Ihre in kreativer und hartnäckiger Forschungsarbeit gewonnenen Einsichten hatten tatsächlich Pioniercharakter und prägen das Feld der Regenerationsbiologie auch für die kommenden Wissenschaftler, die sie unter anderem am IMP ausbildet,“ so Peters.

Prof. Dr. Maria Leptin, Mentorin von Frau Professor Tanaka und Direktorin der European Molecular Biology Organization EMBO in Heidelberg, wird die Laudatio anlässlich der Preisverleihung halten. Über Frau Tanaka sagt sie: „Elly Tanaka ist eine ungewöhnlich kreative und unabhängig denkende Wissenschaftlerin. Wir verdanken ihr bahnbrechende Einsichten zur Regenerationsfähigkeit von Organen und Geweben, die ihr die originelle Anwendung modernster Analysemethoden bei einem klassischen Versuchstier, dem Axolotl, ermöglichten.“

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Schülervortrag

25.09.2017
How do animals regenerate their body parts?

Schulfarm Insel Scharfenberg, Berlin-Tegel (nicht öffentlich)

Fachvortrag

25.09.2017, 16–17 Uhr
Deciphering molecules and cells for limb and spinal cord regeneration

Berlin-Brandenburgisches Zentrum für Regenerative Therapien.
Charité Campus Virchow-Klinikum
Föhrer Str. 15 | 13353 Berlin

Seite des BCRT

Aus der Presse 

Dass Elly Tanaka das Phänomen weiter erforschen wird, erkennt man schon allein an ihrer Begeisterung für diese Forschung: „Der Prozess der Regeneration ist einfach wunderschön.“

26.09.2017, Florian Schumann, Tagesspiegel

Verliert ein Axolotl ein Körperteil, wächst es wieder nach. Wie und warum funktioniert die Regeneration dieser Tiere so gut? Das wollen Forscher seit Jahren herausfinden.

06.10.2017, Laura Borchardt, NDR Info – Logo – Das Wissenschaftsmagazin

Mediathek

Video — 25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka und ihre Forschung im Portrait

September 2017

Zum Video
Galerie — 25.09.2017

Festveranstaltung

Feierliche Verleihung des Ernst Schering Preis 2017 und Friedmund Neumann Preis 2017

Zu den Bildern

Preisverleihung 2017 

Preisverleihung — 25.09.2017

Am 25. September 2017 um 18:30 Uhr werden die beiden renommierten Wissenschaftspreise an Elly Tanaka und Ivana Nikić-Spiegel überreicht.

Mehr erfahren

Downloads 

Preisverleihung

Einladungskarte

Ausführliche Information

mit Forschungsabstract und CV

Datei laden

Public Lecture am DZRF

Einladungskarte

Datei laden

Jury 

Constance Scharff erforscht jenes Gen, das Lebewesen den Spracherwerb ermöglicht. Die studierte Biologin erhielt 1991 an der Rockefeller University in New York ihren Ph.D.-Abschluss mit einer Arbeit über die Neurobiologie des Gesangslernens bei Singvögeln. Das Postdoc-Programm legte die Verhaltensbiologin in Frankreich am Collège de France in Paris ab; sie erforschte dort die Entwicklung von Geschlechterunterschieden im Gehirn von Hennen und Hähnen. Zurück in New York wurde sie 1994 Assistenzprofessorin an der Rockefeller University und beschäftigte sich mit der Entstehung von neuen Nervenzellen im erwachsenen Gehirn. Im Jahr 2001 wurde Scharff an das Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Genetik berufen, 2005 auf eine Professur für Verhaltensbiologie an die Freie Universität. Seit 2008 ist sie Vizepräsidentin der Deutschen Zoologischen Gesellschaft und seit 2012 Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Schliessen

Carl-Henrik Heldin ist seit 1992 Professor für Molekulare Zellbiologie an der Universität Uppsala, Schweden. Von 1986 bis 2017 war er Direktor des Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala. Professor Heldin ist Vorsitzender der Nobelstiftung, des Science for Life Laboratory sowie der European Molecular Biology Organization. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Mechanismen der Signalübertragung durch Wachstumsregulationsfaktoren sowie ihre Normalfunktion und Rolle bei Erkrankungen. Ein wichtiges Ziel ist die Erforschung des möglichen klinischen Nutzens von Signaltransduktionsantagonisten.

Schliessen

Stefan Kaufmann ist Gründungsdirektor und Direktor der Abteilung für Immunologie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie in Berlin sowie Professor für Mikrobiologie und Immunologie am Charité Universitätsklinikum Berlin. Er studierte Biologie an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz, wo er mit summa cum laude promovierte. Die Habilitation im Fach Immunologie und Mikrobiologie folgte 1981 an der Freien Universität Berlin. Von 1987 bis 1991 war er Professor für medizinische Mikrobiologie und Immunologie und von 1991 bis 1998 Ordinarius für Immunologie an der Universität Ulm.

Schliessen

Hartmut Michel studierte Biochemie an der Universität Tübingen und München und wurde 1977 an der Universität Würzburg promoviert. 1986 folgte seine Habilitation an der Universität München. Seit 1987 ist er Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik in Frankfurt am Main und leitet dort die Abteilung für Molekulare Membranbiologie. Für die Aufklärung der dreidimensionalen Struktur des photosynthetischen Reaktionszentrums eines Purpurbakteriums erhielt er 1988 den Nobelpreis für Chemie – zusammen mit Johann Deisenhofer und Robert Huber.

Schliessen

Günter Stock ist ein deutscher Physiologe. Von 1980 bis 1983 war Professor für Vegetative Physiologie an der Universität Heidelberg. Anschließend war er bis 2005 in der Schering AG tätig, von 1989 bis 2005 als Mitglied des Vorstandes der Schering AG, wo er für die Unternehmensfunktion Forschung und Entwicklung zuständig war. Von 2006 bis 2015 war Günter Stock Präsident der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, von 2008 bis 2015 Präsident der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften. Seit April 2012 ist er Präsident der All European Academies (ALLEA) und seit Oktober 2015 Vorstandsvorsitzender der Einstein-Stiftung Berlin.

Schliessen

Fiona Doetsch untersucht Stammzellen im Gehirn von erwachsenen Säugetieren. Die Aufklärung der molekularen und zellulären Wege sowie deren Steuerung ermöglicht Einblicke in die Reparaturprozesse des Gehirns.

Schliessen

Bernard Meunier ist emeritierter Forschungsdirektor am Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination du CNRS, Toulouse, sowie Distinguished Professor am Institut für Chemie der Guangdong University of Technology, Guangzhou, VR China (seit 2012). Er war Inhaber des Liliane-Bettencourt-Lehrstuhls für technologische Innovation am Collège de France, Paris (2014–2015), Präsident der Französischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (2015–2016) und Präsident des CNRS (2004–2006). Sein Hauptinteresse im Bereich der bioanorganischen und medizinischen Chemie gilt dem Design und der Entwicklung von Hybridmolekülen zur Antimalaria- bzw. Antischistosomiasis-Therapie sowie neuer Kupferchelatbildner als potenzielle therapeutische Wirkstoffe zur Bekämpfung von Alzheimer.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube