Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Richard R. Schrock

Bohlmann Lecture 2008

Richard R. Schrock

Bohlmann Lecture 2008

Richard R. Schrock, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA, and 2005 Nobel laureate in chemistry, will give the Bohlmann lecture at the Department of Chemistry of the Technical University of Berlin on October 24, 2008. The lecture is sponsored by the Schering Stiftung.

Richard R. Schrock (born 1945) is researching in the fields of organometal chemistry, synthetic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, catalysts and polymers. His particular interest is in catalysts used for olefin metathesis and ring-opening metathesis polymerisation. Professor Schrock was the first to produce an efficient metal compound catalyst for metathesis – a chemical method which nowadays is used by industry in a cost-efficient and environmentally friendly way. In 2005, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry together with Professor Yves Chauvin and Professor Robert Howard Grubbs.

As part of the Bohlmann Lecture on October 24, 2008, Schrock will talk about “Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum: High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal.” Following the lecture, the Society of Friends of the Technical University of Berlin will present the Schering Prize 2007, which is awarded for outstanding dissertations in chemistry and which is also sponsored by the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

Schering Prize 2007 

Prize winner

Dr. Vehlow from Sandoz Industrial Products GmbH is awerded the Schering Prize 2007 for her research on the "Development of new homogeneous and silica bound ruthenium catalysts for olefin metathesis".

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Richard R. Schrock

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2008

Richard R. Schrock

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2008

Richard R. Schrock, Professor am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, und Nobelpreisträger für Chemie des Jahres 2005, hält am 24. Oktober 2008 die Bohlmann-Vorlesung des Instituts für Chemie der Technischen Universität Berlin. Die Vorlesung wird von der Schering Stiftung gefördert.

Das Forschungsgebiet von Richard R. Schrock (*1945) liegt auf den Gebieten der Organometallchemie, der synthetischen Chemie, der anorganischen Chemie, der Katalysatoren und Polymere. Im Speziellen forscht er an Katalysatoren für die Olefinmetathese und die Ringöffnungs- metathese-Polymerisationen. Als Erster stellte Professor Schrock eine katalytisch effiziente Metallverbindung für die Metathese her – einem chemischen Verfahren, das heute kostengünstig und umweltfreundlich in der Industrie einsetzbar ist. Im Jahr 2005 wurde er zusammen mit Professor Yves Chauvin und Professor Robert Howard Grubbs mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet.

Im Rahmen der Bohlmann-Vorlesung am 24. Oktober 2008 spricht Schrock zum Thema „Monoalkoxide Monopyrrolide Olefin Metathesis Catalysts of Molybdenum. High Turnover, Variability, and Asymmetry at the Metal”. Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung verleiht die Gesellschaft von Freunden der TU Berlin den von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Schering Preis 2007 für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2007 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Vehlow von SANDOZ Industrial Products GmbH erhält den Schering Preis 2007 für ihre Forschungsarbeit zur "Entwicklung neuer homogener und Kieselgel gebundener Rutheniumkatalysatoren für die Olefinmetathese".

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram