Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Ei-Ichi Negishi

Bohlmann Lecture 2011

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Ei-Ichi Negishi

Bohlmann Lecture 2011

On October 14, 2011 the 2011 Bohlmann Lecture will take place at Technical University of Berlin. This year’s Bohlmann Lecture will be given by Professor Ei-ichi Negishi Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor of Organic Chemistry at Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN – on the topic of “Magical Power of d-Block Transition Metals – Pd-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling and ZACA Reaction.”

Professor Ei-ichi Negishi was awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing palladium-catalyzed cross-coupling in the mid-1970s. Born in 1935, Negishi came to the United States in 1960 after graduating from the University of Tokyo. In 1962, while studying for his doctorate at the University of Pennsylvania, he met Purdue chemistry professor Herbert C. Brown—a pioneer in synthetic organic chemistry. With Brown as a mentor, Negishi arrived in West Lafayette as a postdoctoral researcher in 1966. He then moved to Syracuse University where he served as an assistant professor (1972-76) and associate professor (1976-79). Dr. Negishi joined the faculty at Purdue in 1979—the same year Brown was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry—and has been a researcher in this building for more than thirty years. In 1999, he was named the Inaugural Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor of Chemistry. Dr. Negishi has won many awards, authored several books, and published more than 400 research papers.

Professor Ei-ichi Negishi is a pioneer in developing metal-based reactions called palladium-catalyzed cross-coupling, that allow for easy and efficient synthesis of complex organic compounds. By creating a more precise method for coupling two different (or same) carbon groups, Dr. Negishi created a powerful tool for synthesizing a wide range of useful chemicals used in medicine, agriculture, and electronics.

He shares the 2010 Nobel Prize with Richard Heck of the University of Delaware and Akira Suzuki from Hokkaido University in Sapporo, Japan. Their methods are now widely used in industry and research in a variety of applications including: pharmaceutical antibiotics that work on drug resistant bacteria, agricultural chemicals that protect crops from fungi, and electronic light-emitting diodes used in the production of extremely thin monitors.

The Schering Stiftung sponsors the lecture in order to strengthen the international networking among scientists and to make visible renowned experts as role models for young scientists. In addition, the lecture makes it possible for a broader, interested public to learn about the latest scientific findings. Following the Bohlmann Lecture, the 2010 Schering Prize, awarded by the Schering Stiftung for the best dissertation in Berlin in the field of chemistry, will be given to Dr. Wei Jiang.

Read more

Schering Prize 2010 

Prize winner

Dr. Wei Jiang from the Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Freie Universität Berlin is awarded the Schering Prize 2010 for his research on "Supramolecular Synthesis via Integrative Self-Sorting".

Learn more

You might also be interested in

November 10, 2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann Lecture 2017

November 09, 2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

The Art of Building Small - from molecular switches to motors

November 11, 2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Lecture 2016

November 20, 2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann-Lecture 2015

November 21, 2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Lecture 2014

November 22, 2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Lecture 2013

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Ei-Ichi Negishi

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2011

Prof. Ei-Ichi Negishi

Ei-Ichi Negishi

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2011

Am 14. Oktober 2011 findet in der Technischen Universität die Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2011 statt. Die Vorlesung wird in diesem Jahr von Prof. Ei-ichi Negishi – Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor für Organische Chemie an der Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN – zum Thema „Magical Power of d-Block Transition Metals – Pd-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling and ZACA Reaction“ gehalten.

Professor Ei-ichi Negishi erhielt 2010 den Nobelpreis für Chemie für seine Mitte der 1970er Jahre entwickelte palladiumkatalysierte Kreuzkupplung. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Universität Tokio ging der 1935 geborene Wissenschaftler 1960 in die Vereinigten Staaten. 1962 lernte er im Rahmen seiner Promotion an der University of Pennsylvania Herbert C. Brown kennen, Professor für Chemie an der Purdue University und Pionier der synthetischen organischen Chemie, der zu Negishis Mentor wurde und ihn 1966 auf eine Postdoc-Stelle nach West Lafayette holte. Anschließend ging er an die Syracuse University, wo er als Assistant Professor (1972-76) und als Associate Professor (1976-79) tätig war. 1979 – in demselben Jahr, in dem Brown den Nobelpreis für Chemie erhielt – wechselte Dr. Negishi an die Purdue University, wo er seit nunmehr über dreißig Jahren forscht. 1999 wurde er zum ersten Herbert C. Brown Distinguished Professor of Chemistry ernannt. Dr. Negishi ist Träger zahlreicher Auszeichnungen und hat diverse Bücher und über 400 Forschungsaufsätze verfasst.

Professor Ei-ichi Negishi ist für seine bahnbrechende Arbeiten zu metallbasierten Reaktionen bekannt, sogenannten palladiumkatalysierten Kreuzkupplungen, welche eine leichte und effiziente Synthese von komplexen organischen Verbindungen ermöglichen. Durch die Entwicklung einer präziseren Methode zur Kupplung zweier verschiedener (oder gleicher) Kohlenstoffgruppen hat Dr. Negishi ein leistungsfähiges Instrument zur Synthese eines breiten Spektrums von Chemikalien geschaffen, die in der Medizin, in der Landwirtschaft und in der Elektronik verwendet werden.

Den Nobelpreis 2010 erhielt er zusammen mit Richard Heck von der University of Delaware und Akira Suzuki von der Hokkaido-Universität im japanischen Sapporo. Ihre Ansätze kommen in Industrie und Forschung in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungen zum Einsatz, z.B. bei pharmazeutischen Antibiotika gegen medikamentenresistente Bakterien, landwirtschaftlichen Chemikalien, die die Ernte vor Pilzbefall schützen sowie lichtemittierenden Dioden, die bei der Herstellung extrem flacher Monitore verwendet werden.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Vorlesung, um die internationale Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlern zu stärken und renommierte Fachexperten als Vorbilder für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sichtbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht die Vorlesung einer breiten interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Teilhabe an neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. Im Anschluss an die Vorlesung wird der von der Schering Stiftung geförderte Schering Preis 2010 für hervorragende Dissertationen im Fach Chemie an Dr. Wei Jiang verliehen.

Weiterlesen

Schering Preis 2010 

Preisträger*in

Dr. Wei Jiang vom Institut für Chemie und Biochemie der Freien Universität Berlin erhält den Schering Preis 2010 für seine Forschungsarbeit zur "Supramolekulare Synthese durch Integrierte Selbstsortierung".

Mehr erfahren

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.11.2017

Alois Fürstner

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2017

09.11.2018, Berlin

Ben L. Feringa

Die Kunst klein zu bauen – Molekulare Schalter und Motoren

11.11.2016

Frances Arnold

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2016

20.11.2015

Prof. Dr. Phil Baran

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2015

21.11.2014

François Diederich

Bohlmann Vorlesung 2014

22.11.2013

David Milstein

Bohlmann-Vorlesung 2013

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram