Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Prize 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Prize 2006
Photo: Andreas Heddergott

Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Ernst Schering Prize 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Prize 2006
Photo: Andreas Heddergott

Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Ernst Schering Prize 2006


Professor Wolfgang Baumeister has opened up a new perspective on cell biology: With fascinating images of rapidly frozen cells, he can create spatial, i.e. three-dimensional representations of protein structures and from there even derive information about the molecules’ sequence of movements. For these landmark developments of the so-called cryo-electron tomography, the director at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried is awarded the 50,000 Ernst Schering Prize 2006.

How does a virus enter a cell where it begins its fatal proliferation? How do bacteria and amoebae move? These are some of the questions that Professor Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister will soon be able to answer in detail. With his development of the cryo-electron tomography, the biologist opens up a new door in cell research and provides new insights into the nano world of the cell, as it allows imaging of thousands of tiniest protein complexes and other structures in a cell simultaneously?even in 3D.

“This fascinating new technology will make a decisive contribution to our understanding of the functioning of the cell,” says Dr. Monika Lessl, Member of the Board of Directors of the Schering Stiftung. The cells are rapidly frozen and thus solidified in a natural state. Even the movements of the proteins are frozen and can be reconstructed from several images. Apart from its importance for basic research, Baumeister also sees medical applications in the future: “In the long term, the cryo-electron tomography will help us discover pathological mutations in the pattern of molecular interaction. We will also be able to describe the influence of therapeutic agents on the interactions.”

In recent years, Baumeister has given depth to the two-dimensional images of the cellular “interior furnishings” provided by traditional electron microscopy: Together with his research team, the director of the Department of Molecular Structural Biology adapted the technology of medical computer tomography to the electron microscope. First, a cell is being photographed from various perspectives. The computer then assembles the individual images to a three-dimensional image.

Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, director of the Konstanz-based Center for Philosophy and Theory of Science and chairman of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung, is convinced: “The technology developed by Baumeister has enormous potential. His work will greatly advance the scientific understanding of how life works.”

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

September 19, 2006, 6–8 p.m.
Ernst Schering Prize 2006

Frank O. Gehry Bau der DZ Bank
Pariser Platz 3 | 10117 Berlin-Mitte

High School Lecture

September 20, 2006, 10 a.m.–12 p.m.
Electron tomography – Insights into the nanoworld of the cell

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC)
Robert-Rössle-Str. 10 | 13125 Berlin-Buch

Scientific Lecture

September 20, 2006, 2–4 p.m.
Electron tomography – Insights into the nanoworld of the cell

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC)
MDC.C – Building 83 | Conference hall AXON 1
Robert-Rössle-Str. 10 | 13125 Berlin-Buch

Laudatio 

"The technology developed by Baumeister has enormous potential. His work will greatly advance the scientific understanding of how life works."

09.2006, Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, director of the Konstanz-based Center for Philosophy and Theory of Science and chairman of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung

Downloads 

Curriculum Vitae

Wolfgang Baumeister

Download File

You might also be interested in

July 07, 2021

Aviv Regev

Ernst Schering Prize 2021

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

PreisträgerIn 

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Preis 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Preis 2006
Foto: Andreas Heddergott

Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Ernst Schering Preis 2006

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang P. Baumeister - Ernst Schering Preis 2006
Foto: Andreas Heddergott

Wolfgang P. Baumeister

Ernst Schering Preis 2006


Eine neue Perspektive der Zellbiologie hat Professor Wolfgang Baumeister eröffnet: Mit faszinierenden Aufnahmen blitzschnell eingefrorener Zellen kann er Eiweißstrukturen räumlich, also dreidimensional darstellen und daraus sogar Bewegungsabläufe der Moleküle ableiten. Für diese wegweisenden Entwicklungen der so genannten Kryo-Elektronentomographie wird der Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried heute mit dem mit 50.000 Euro dotierten Ernst Schering Preis 2006 geehrt.

Wie dringt ein Virus in die Zelle ein, um dort seine fatale Vermehrung zu beginnen? Wie bewegen sich Bakterien und Amöben? Das sind einige der Fragen, die Professor Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister bald ganz genau beantworten kann. Mit der von ihm entwickelten Kryo-Elektronentomographie stößt der Biologe eine neue Tür in der Zellforschung auf und gibt neue Einblicke in die Nanowelt der Zelle: Er kann Tausende winzigster Proteinkomplexe und anderer Strukturen in einer Zelle gleichzeitig darstellen – und das sogar in 3D.

„Die neue Technologie ist faszinierend und wird entscheidend zum Verständnis beitragen, wie die Zelle funktioniert“, sagt Dr. Monika Lessl, Vorstand der Schering Stiftung. Die Zellen werden blitzschnell in flüssigem Stickstoff eingefroren und erstarren so in einem natürlichen Zustand. Sogar die Bewegungen der Proteine sind eingefroren und lassen sich aus mehreren Aufnahmen rekonstruieren. Für die Zukunft sieht Baumeister neben der Bedeutung für die Grundlagenforschung auch medizinische Anwendungen: „Langfristig wird man mit der Kryo-Elektronentomographie in der Lage sein, krankhafte Veränderungen im Muster der molekularen Wechselwirkungen zu entdecken. Auch den Einfluss therapeutischer Wirkstoffe auf die Interaktionen wird man beschreiben können.“

Baumeister hat den zweidimensionalen Bildern der zellulären „Inneneinrichtung“, die mit der herkömmlichen Elektronenmikroskopie aufgenommen wurden, in den vergangenen Jahren Tiefe verliehen: Zusammen mit seinem Forschungsteam passte der Leiter der Abteilung Molekulare Strukturbiologie die Technik der medizinischen Computertomographie an das Elektronenmikroskop an. Dabei werden elektronenmikroskopische Bilder einer Zelle in gefrorenem Zustand bei -196°C oder -269°C aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln aufgenommen. Die Einzelbilder werden dann im Rechner zu einem dreidimensionalen Bild zusammengesetzt.

Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, Direktor des Konstanzer Zentrums für Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie und Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung, ist überzeugt: „Die von Baumeister entwickelte Technologie hat enormes Potenzial. Seine Arbeiten sind richtungsweisend für das wissenschaftliche Verständnis, wie Leben funktioniert.“

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

19.09.2006, 18–20 Uhr
Ernst Schering Preis 2006

Frank O. Gehry Bau der DZ Bank
Pariser Platz 3 | 10117 Berlin-Mitte

Schülervortrag

20.09.2006, 10–12 Uhr
Elektronentomographie – Einblicke in die Nanowelt der Zelle

Max Delbrück Communications Center (MDC.C)
Campus Berlin-Buch
Robert-Rössle-Straße 10 | 13125 Berlin-Buch

Fachvortrag

20.09.2006, 14–16 Uhr
Elektronentomographie – Einblicke in die Nanowelt der Zelle

Max Delbrück Communications Center (MDC.C)
Campus Berlin-Buch
Robert-Rössle-Straße 10 | 13125 Berlin-Buch

Laudatio 

"Die von Baumeister entwickelte Technologie hat enormes Potenzial. Seine Arbeiten sind richtungsweisend für das wissenschaftliche Verständnis, wie Leben funktioniert."

09.2006, Professor Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, Direktor des Konstanzer Zentrums für Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie und Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Wolfgang Baumeister

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

23.09.2013

Frank Kirchhoff

Ernst Schering Preis 2013

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube